Thankfulness Mondays- Hope For Those in Dire Need

Week 46 (of 52) giving thanks for things in our lives great and small; along with Bernadette of Haddon Musings, and others as well.

Today I am giving thanks for Organizations that help those who need it very desperately, especially at this time in places like Sudan. Specifically today, I am highlighting World Vision. There are offices around the World but the National offices  including United States, Australia, Canada, and UK.

World Vision is working in over 100 countries within Africa, Asia, South America, Europe and North America. Specifically today, I am writing about the terrible and dire situation in Sudan. I watched a t.v. news broadcast about it this past week, and it brought me to tears. It’s not the only place of course that is riddled with corruption and war targeting the most vulnerable, and causing mass destruction and starvation, but it is terrible right now with the violence, the government involvement and the hunger. The people and especially the children are suffering so much!

I actually worked for World Vision Canada for 13 years, and my son 20 years, and believe in their work. I knew I was meant to be there, as the circumstances that led up to it, were truly amazing.  (I wrote about it here if anyone is interested.) They are a non-profit Christian organization, and do emergency relief and development,  and child sponsorship.

There are other organizations that are striving to help, such as Oxfam and the Red Cross and likely others.

I am thankful for those who help,  as we can’t go directly into these countries, but can support financially those who do.

As the founder of World Vision, Bob Pierce said when he began the organization, “Don’t fail to do something, just because you can’t do everything”.

He also said to “Let my heart be broken, with the things that break the heart of God”

For anyone who might want to give a donation to help those in Sudan, I’m leaving a link to World Vision Canada, and U.S.A; and the International Red Cross.

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Thankfulness Mondays- Hope For Those in Dire Need

  1. Diane – Awhile back I worked for WVI for 10 years in the Middle East & Africa. In our programs WVCanada provided financial support but we also knew your office prayed for us – and that made all the difference in conflict zones when times were tough. Thank you for the link sharing your story of how you came to work for WVC – it encouraged my heart today! Blessings!! Virginia

    Liked by 1 person

    • I’m so glad you read the post… You were the hands and feet of prayers given. I was at WV many years ago from 1978 to 1991 and then had to ‘retire’ on disability when I was 46 because I was diagnosed with Multiple Sclerosis… though it has not disabled me greatly. I have the fatigue, issues walking, weakness etc. but not severely affected. I loved working at WVC as I felt that the end result of my work in Donor Relations and the Telephone Operations Dept … was that those who had very little in their lives would be helped …I had always had a heart for the families and ‘children’ who were hungry and without basic necessities of life.. and still do…Diane

      Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

