Thankfulness Mondays – Little Things Mean a Lot

This is week 36 (of 52) joining Bernadette of Haddon Musings posting of things around us to be thankful for, and to appreciate; things small and large, and to maybe be an influence away from negativity, and toward positivity.

As my husband ‘W’ and I attempt to DE clutter, in order to get ready to put our home up for sale, we’re coming across many items that have survived I believe 12 or 13 moves over what will be in July, 54 years of marriage. Each move had a reason for doing so.

When we married, since we had both moved many times as children, we said we didn’t want to do that. Now here we are planning to move again. When speaking to my daughter this week about this, I noted that at least 4 or 5 of them …maybe 6, were in the same area so our children did not have to change schools often. That’s what was difficult for us as children; starting new schools too many times and being the ‘new kid’.

Anyway, back to sorting things out in order to move, we’re coming across some things that we have to make a decision on. Among them, lots of photos which I sorted through and made packets of some to give to the applicable families. I have some albums which I’ll keep for now; the rest are on our computers.

Then there were books, videos, letters, some special cards, knick knacks, dishes, my mother’s silverware, clothing, etc. etc.

We won’t have the same amount of storage, and so gave a lot away to various thrift stores, and some items to our children and grandchildren. Some we couldn’t give away, because we had emotional ties to them, so our kids will have to decide what to do with those, when the need arises.

What I am thankful for, is that with each thing we look at, it brings with it, memories of times and places, we shared as a family and with friends. While I don’t remember every detail, it did take me back in time and what and who was in our lives then.

I would hope and suppose this will be our last move, because of our ages. We kind of laugh when we say that though. We said it would be our last, many times over.

But I think that this time it will be!

July 1963

July 1963

My husband and I taken in 2015

My husband and I taken in 2015

30 thoughts on “Thankfulness Mondays – Little Things Mean a Lot

  1. Moving and whittling down personal items is very difficult. My husband went through this when we moved from FL to GA – house to apt. We still have a lot of furniture, knick knacks, etc. We don’r have to children to pass down to but we do have a beloved friend. We have given many items to him because we know he appreciates them.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I too am in the process of decluttering. Actually I am starting with shredding and then go from there. 😀 A gentleman mentioned to me recently, that our world would be in a better place, if everyone started their day with Thank you…

    Liked by 1 person

  3. I too am in the process of decluttering. We are considering selling our home too but we need to unload items and like you send photos off to my children… A gentleman mentioned to me recently, that our world would be in a better place, if everyone started their day with Thank you…

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I hope all goes well with your move Diane, I can identify very much with your statement ……..”What I am thankful for, is that with each thing we look at, it brings with it, memories of times and places, we shared as a family and with friends. While I don’t remember every detail, it did take me back in time and what and who was in our lives then.”

    Yes so many Memories, what do I keep, what to let go of, I haven’t started packing yet, the house is not sold but trying to condense before packing starts is easier said than done.

    I went shopping today and reminded myself not to buy anything that can’t be eaten or drunk Opps! we are having a cut price food bonanza in our Stores, you should see my freezer it’s packed, I love a Bargain, I hope the house doesn’t sell too soon.

    Christian Love – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes, I asked my husband to try to not buy those ‘specials’ right now as I don’t want excess around to clutter the cupboards ‘and closet’ so as to not look like there isn’t enough storage places.. Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

