Thankfulness Mondays – Lessons Learned

This is week 35 of 52 joining with Bernadette of Haddon Musings for reasons large and small to be thankful for in our lives, with the intention of perhaps offsetting the negative aspects of life.

This past week I’ve been at my sister “M” ‘s home, and we were reminiscing our growing up years. She’s 5 years older than I, and not in the best health. but we both had many of the same memories. We thought of our mother, and our other 8 siblings.

We thought about how strong a woman she was, and how we have taken on many of her traits. We thought about the unconditional love she had, but also the way we were raised. The appreciation that we feel, for teaching ‘us’ how to love and to support one another. If one of us is hurting we try to be there. If one of us needs something we try to be there.

There are only 3 of us that are remaining now, and our brother and his wife are going through a difficult time. We went to see them and when leaving, there were tears forming in his eyes; this brother who rarely showed his feelings in such a visible way. His wife has a neurological disease of ‘unknown origin’, that now after many years of deterioration, is waiting for placement in a home, where she can receive 24 hour care. He has tried valiantly for her to remain at home, but it has become impossible to continue.

My sister lost her husband later in July of 2015.

So you may wonder what I have to be thankful for…..  and it is that we were raised by a mother who had compassion, strength, faith, and unconditional love, in order that we might show it to not only our families, but to others as well.

If one has not been the recipient of such love, it is difficult (but not impossible) to give it to others.

Six of us 2015 Brother and His Wife in center

Six of us 2015
Brother and His Wife in center

John 13:34-35New International Version (NIV)

34 “A new command I give you: Love one another. As I have loved you, so you must love one another. 35 By this everyone will know that you are my disciples, if you love one another.”

 

19 thoughts on “Thankfulness Mondays – Lessons Learned

  1. I am not given to sentimentality and I am the worse for that. I can probably blame it on many things in my past that caused this, however it makes no difference now. Thank you for sharing.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi.No we can’t change the past for sure… My father had problems with addiction but by the time I was born he was not allowed in the home, so my mother had the most influence in my life….although she still was for all of the others of my siblings…. Diane

      Like

  2. My family, too, has always been a source of unconditional love and appreciation. That is a huge thing to be grateful for.
    I was thinking today, how I spend such a huge time writing some posts and I get practically no attention. You might be interested to read about the recent clinical trials in the area of vitamins and supplements, especially that is important for people over 50: https://inesepogalifeschool.com/

    Liked by 1 person

    • Hi Inese… I find that a lot of bloggers will ‘like’ a post but not many leave a comment. I’m not sure why. It’s the same on mine as well. I’ll have a look at the link you sent. I always appreciate reading your posts .. Diane

      Like

  3. You are so blessed Diane to have had a Mum who Loved and Cared for you. I had two Mothers who didn’t really Love me, I will leave a link for you about my Birth Mother it will save detail here…..

    Childhood- http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2011/09/27/the-early-years-a-little-lost-girl/

    My Mother who Adopted me although I believe she was kind told me more than once that she could never Love me like her own Children and yes she showed it to both of us who were Adopted and Morry who she had Fostered too and her husband my second Dad was the same. Did my heart break, oh how I longed to be Loved, boys and than Men became a substitute yes mostly they just used me but than Wonderfully Jesus rescued me from my carnage of Sin, healed my wounds, helped me forgive and gave me His Love in my Heart, that just overflows.

    Do I Love now, yes greatly and yes I still get hurt but I forgive and move on in Love always leaving a door open in case there is Hope of reconciliation and this is the same with my Blogging, I really do care about my Blogging friends like you Diane, Thank you for your Blogging friendship, your prayers and encouragement and your support, they mean a lot to me.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 3 people

  4. What a beautiful post. It confirms what I’ve been realising lately: that out of suffering comes experience and knowledge and generosity to others who suffer. I am not sure if that makes sense. Thanks so much and I am sorry for being so slack with blog-reading over recent months x

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

