Thankfulness Mondays – The Age of Communication

Well here it is week 33 (of 52) joining with Bernadette of Haddon Musings, of thing to be thankful for large and small in our world, to offset the negative ones, hoping that “we can move to higher and better place” (quote unquote).

These last few (or many really) years, media has become so advanced. I’m thankful for the good aspects of it

Think of all the ways we can connect to one another. There’s blogging of course that first comes to mind with my computer; and  Facebook being the second, on a limited basis for me. Of course emailing and then, the cell phones which can be used for the obvious phoning, but also texting and connecting to the internet.

We have the ability, if we so choose, which I haven’t; and that’s + tweeting, Instagram, and Skyping, and so many more. I choose not to do  them though,, because for me it’s much too much. I have the IPhone really to communicate more easily with my children and grandchildren, and to have a camera always on hand if I have an opportunity to take a picture at any time, . Occasionally my 8 year old great-granddaughter uses Facetime to call me, but sometimes I’ve even disconnected with her by mistake, in using it.

All the ways we have can of course be abused in using, most commonly I’m referring to bullying, scams, stalking, spreading rumors, and then just the addiction factor. Some are walking around constantly using these electronic devices oblivious to the people around them.

I am thankful though for some of the choices that I have, and though I don’t use many of the available fancy ‘apps’ that are available, it’s very convenient if I’m waiting for that particular and important call, to be able to be reached with the mobile phone.

So even if these new ways of communicating are  sometimes an intrusive, unwelcome or unwanted  way for some, it can be helpful  and embraced by others, sometimes though to an extreme degree. .

 

 

14 thoughts on “Thankfulness Mondays – The Age of Communication

  1. Good for you! It is useful. I use everything all the the time, Skype and Facetime, and Facebook Messenger (has camera, too), Pinterest Twitter, Facebook, Linkedin, Google + and blogging. I don’t have time for Instagram, though because I have also Fine Art America site to monitor. My other work writing medical research articles involves a lot of computer use and special tricky software. I also dictate my texts some times, I love technology, but do not spend all time with it, just like you’re saying: to stay in touch. My daily job is to do a lot of typing, so I sort of love computers and have been using them since the first one appeared.
    It’s nice that you appreciate the ability to communicate this way because nothing is faster.

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re more advanced than I am.. I tried Twitter but couldn’t get it… so decided not to stress about it. But I am content with what I do….
      I always enjoy your blogs; I just wish I someday could paint a fraction as well as you do… Diane

      Like

  2. Well I have thought of going back to Smoke Signals Diane with all the problems I have had with my Computers and with Blogging but with Fire bans they are also a worry, perhaps 2 Tins and a bit of string would be better.

    You probably guessed that Technology is not my strongest assets, I just found out a few days ago there are something called Instagrams Hummmm I still don’t know how to get them or what they are all about but it seems to be a bit like Blogging but I could be wrong.

    I did do a Post about Blogging as Christians, I will leave the Link for you Diane in case you haven’t read it and would like to.

    Blogging for Jesus – http://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2013/01/23/blogging-for-jesus/

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • I really don’t know about instagram, I believe my granddaughter uses it mainly for putting pictures on facebook…
      Hope that things are progressing for you re the sale of the house and your medical issues… Take care.. Diane

      Like

    • That’s exactly my thoughts Bernadette. I can’t believe the hundreds of people I’ve met through blogging. When I began I thought I might meet 2 or 3 I might find who may communicate with me! That’s how much I knew about blogging…. Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

