Too Many…. Too Soon

Years ago….many years ago when growing up, I didn’t know anyone except when I was about 16 my mother’s sister who had colon cancer.

However, in my lifetime now I have seen so many relatives, friends and acquaintances succumb to cancer. Five of my siblings have passed away from various forms of it. They weren’t too young; I guess one of my sisters was 63;  but she was able to have a family, and enjoy many good years.

My husband’s mother passed away when she was also 63.

I think now that most of us have had similar experiences. I suppose that with the latest news that another nephew has been diagnosed, has just made me realize the many losses. He had his first routine colonoscopy, and they found a tumour. He is just 50 years old. Hopefully, they got all of it, when they operated. We’ll know soon.

I’m sorry if this sounds like a ‘downer’ post; but I just write sometimes what I’m feeling.

As Christians we can’t expect to be exempt from the heartache of this disease. or others… Matthew 5: 45 ( That ye may be the children of your Father which is in heaven: for he maketh his sun to rise on the evil and on the good, and sendeth rain on the just and on the unjust”.

Each year we hope and pray that some new drug will come along, and be a cure rather than the sometimes harsh treatment that many go through now.

Cancer is of course not the only disease that robs us of our loved ones.

It matters not really what takes them from us… but ‘too many are taken too soon’ !

13 thoughts on “Too Many…. Too Soon

  1. I am so sorry to hear about your nephew. It seems that the further we progress as a society in technology, etc., the further we digress in health issues. I never had heard of childhood cancer when I was growing up. And like you, rarely heard of it as a young adult. But now it seems to be everywhere! Is it the chemicals in our food, the food our food eats? It’s just too much. My prayers for your family. **hugs**

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

