Thankfulness Mondays – A Kind Word

I’m participating in a theme of Bernadette of ‘Haddon Musings’, acknowledging things small and not so small for which I have to be thankful for. It is to try to offset negative thoughts and actions going on in the world today… with the thought that we really can appreciate our many blessings.

Today, I am reminded how a kind word can make one feel uplifted and encouraged. Sometimes we feel that we are past the point in our lives where we really contribute much. We live our lives often remembering those years when we worked, and where we felt that the job we did, somehow made a difference in the world. We perhaps raised a family, and dedicated ourselves to helping our children become a productive part of society.

Maybe we just felt our ‘worth’ more during those days… at least our worth in the eyes of those around us. My real worth of course is realized in knowing that God accepts me no matter what I accomplish in life. I’m a senior now, but I guess age doesn’t really matter. We all need to think that we are special in some way… that we matter.

This morning I read the scripture, in our church. After the service was over, a few people told me how much they liked when I read, and two even asked if I had been a teacher.

Those few words, lifted my spirit. It was perhaps to some a small thing, but to me it made me feel ‘special’.

We all have the power to make a difference during our daily lives, to make someone else feel that what they do is important. Just think of the number of people we meet every day, who perhaps need a word of encouragement from someone, and the difference we could make in their life.

Maybe today or tomorrow will be your chance to give a ‘kind word’!

IMG_2558-002I’m adding a recent painting I did … some know I do amateur paintings, and occasionally just add to a post.

9 thoughts on “Thankfulness Mondays – A Kind Word

  1. Your painting is quite good! Great job. Are you using acrylics or oil? Not that it matters. Good is good! I can really relate to how one can wonder what their worth is. Especially as we get older and no longer work or have children to raise.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

