A-Z Challenge “B’elieving”

BBelieving, is so important in life. Without believing in yourself, others, or in so many areas of life, it can hinder your  feelings of well-being and stifle dreams and goals and direction.

It’s difficult because sometimes we doubt our abilities; we underestimate our strengths, and dwell too much on our weaknesses.

I grew up with an amazing mother who loved me and all of her ten children, and did whatever she could to protect and support us. One of the things that affected me however, was the fact that I had no father in my life. My other siblings did, and perhaps I was even better off than they were; as he was an alcoholic with other frailties as well. But because he wasn’t at all present, we had to move a lot with financial concerns all of the time. We never starved, we had clothes… maybe not stylish and maybe a lot of hand-me-downs, but it did cause some insecurities for me.

That was perhaps one of the factors when I suffered with depression on and off many years of my life. During this time however I did, along with my husband raise three beautiful children. One thing I strived to instill in them was their self esteem, and to believe that they could do whatever they set their minds to.

Family picture last year. My three children, my husband and I

I think that the greatest gifts we can give to a child, are encouragement, support, of course to love them unconditionally; and very importantly to ‘believe’ in themselves and to have those goals and dreams for their future.

I would be remiss as a Christian to not acknowledge that my belief in God, has brought me through many difficult times, especially through the ‘darkness of depression’.

3 thoughts on “A-Z Challenge “B’elieving”

  1. I now know without a doubt Diane that the most important and most needed thing for me to have received as a Child and in my growing up years and which would have made a big difference and also stopped a lot of heartache in the following years, is if my Dad and Mum, both Birth and those whom Adopted me had done what God asks Parents to do ( see below) but they didn’t believe it was important and so I lacked Self-worth and believed I was of very little value, which lead to self inflicted suffering, until Jesus rescued me.

    Proverbs 22:6 Train up a Child in the way he should go and when he is old he will not depart from it.

    The Link below Diane shares an amazing Story about our need for Self-worth, it is the only thing that will endure through every Storm in our lives.

    Our Self Worth- http://alifeofhopeandjoy.wordpress.com/2011/10/23/how-god-views-us-2/

    “Christ”ian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

