Of a Mixed Mind

I was thinking the past couple of days, how it is that one is able to be happy with ones’ life and yet have moments when concerns can quite easily intrude into that sense of well-being and if unchecked, snatch that happiness away.

It doesn’t happen fast but creeps in slowly, and then one day the negative factors in our life balloon in intensity.

For those who don’t know me; it is relationships that affect me the most, not money or the lack thereof or worldly possessions.  There are those of us I guess who, while as Christians we’re not supposed to use the word ‘worry’, using another word does not mask the fact that it is worry; words like concerned, uneasy, troubled or perturbed.

We remind ourselves of the Serenity Prayer; ‘to accept the things I cannot change, to change the things I can; and the wisdom to know the difference’. We know that we have a loving God who is waiting to take our concerns.

We know logically and intellectually that we really have no control over decisions,  actions or attitudes of another person; especially when we’ve lived as many years as I have. When I was much younger, I perhaps thought that I could, by something that I could do or say, but of course one can’t.

If only our heart matched our intellect.

p.s. (I know who is waiting to hear from me about my concerns)

 

 

 

20 thoughts on “Of a Mixed Mind

  1. I too am going through something right now – so your message is timely and as always God’s timing is perfect. Worry is an emotion that God created in us, I think when we allow that worry to turn from God that is when it becomes a problem. Praying for you. ❤

    Liked by 1 person

      • Thank you Diane, I will update you soon, but so far all is good. I pray your new church home will fill your hunger of His Holy Word. Of coarse I am a bit bias but you know what they say about the Presbyterian Church? God is Presbyterian because God is an orderly and a detailed God just like the Presbyterian Church!! lol You know it takes 9 Presbyterians to change a light bulb – 1 to form a committee, 7 to serve on the committee and 1 to actually change the light bulb!! lol Just a little humor to celebrate your new church home. For anyone who attends a different church – just a light humor. Those that know God knows He loves us all and He has no favorites!! Isn’t that wonderful?!

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I worry about worrying too…so much it worries me! I’m not trying to be funny either. It’s the way it is. It DOES consume us and then the next thing I know it has taken over and sucked the life out of me. Seems to be a permanent state.

    Like

    • I really do understand the ‘worrying about worrying’…. because it is so ingrained in us, that we are not to worry…it does no good. Never the less it happens because like I said.. our mind may know we shouldn’t but our heart is not connected to intellect.
      I do get it; that I need to go to God and give it all to him, and pray. I pray mostly without a lot of words though… Just letting Him know I’m back in that place of ‘worry’ and to please work in the situations that are troubling to me. And I know that I don’t have the words to say really… I’m reminded of the scripture that says ..

      (I had to look up where it was)

      Romans 8:26-27 In the same way, the Spirit helps us in our weakness. We do not know what we ought to pray for, but the Spirit himself intercedes for us through wordless groans. 27 And he who searches our hearts knows the mind of the Spirit, because the Spirit intercedes for God’s people in accordance with the will of God.

      That’s where I find myself a lot… letting the Holy Spirit intercede because I don’t have the words…
      Diane xx

      Liked by 1 person

  3. Pingback: Of a Mixed Mind | Christians Anonymous

  4. Oh I know about that feeling Diane. In fact, it has come and gone many times in my life thus far. It just knows how to slip in and make chaos but I’ve always gotten past it. I can’t really say how to avoid it but I know how to handle it. I always surround myself with others who are happy or can make me happy because they know me. That’s what works for me. Find what works for you and kick that thief in the butt. Worry, let it not be the end of your happiness. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Such a wise post and timely for me as I have been having lots of arguments with Ming this week, with both of us ending up in tears – absolutely horrible. Then I realised that when he comes home (which isn’t often now he has a girlfriend) I am immediately asking him for help like can he find the bicycle pump, help me move the doghouse into another yard, or nagging him about eating a meal I’ve made etc. My epiphany was that as a mother whose son is leaving the nest, I should just welcome him home and love him unconditionally and go with his flow.

    Liked by 1 person

    • It’s tough; the expectations we have of others, especially those close to us. ‘Acceptance’ sometimes seems like giving up, but I guess sometimes it’s the best thing to do…(Now if only I can remember what I just said)….. Diane

      Liked by 2 people

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

