DP Challenge – FAQ

Prompt: Interview someone — a friend, another blogger, your mother, the mailman — and write a post based on their responses.

This prompt was timely in that I conducted an interview and put it on FaceBook,  albeit a fictional interview. I wrote it  today prior to reading this challenge. The interview has facts within it, but the responses from the person I was ‘interviewing’, were some facts and some projections of what he might say in response to some of my questions. There are those who may not agree with my projections, but I made them as non-specific as I could so as not to assume his position on a subject, but where I could, I used some of his actual spoken words in various media interviews.

How I would interview J.T. currently applying for the Prime Minister of Canada and what he might say.

Me: So, Mr. T. what education do you have that enhances this position?

T. : Well, I have a BA for Literature and a BA for Education; I studied for Master of Arts, and I taught for several years.

Me: So you feel those degrees will be a significant asset as Prime Minister

T. : Well yes of course

Me: What other experiences do you have.

T. : Well I served as MP in Papineau, P.Q. from 2008 and served as critic for youth and Multiculturalism, Citizenship and Immigration, and Post-Secondary Education, Youth and Amateur Sport. I was also elected leader of the Liberal Party in 2013.

Me: So it seems that your interest is in the youth of Canada in particular.

T. : Yes that is a particular interest, but of course I am concerned for everyone.

Me: Everyone,  but your platform seems to particularly be against the ‘rich’ however in Canada as you want to increase taxation substantially for them.

T. : I certainly do. They are not paying nearly enough taxes.

Me: So you say; and that by taxing the 1 % which is the estimate of Canadians in that category, you will obtain enough money to help greatly the middle-class of Canada?

T. : Absolutely

Me: Well according to statistics that would have to likely increase those ‘rich’ by an enormous amount to cover all that you are promising. You particularly mention the middle-class all the time, but don’t refer to those who are now living on or below the poverty line.

T. : Well, of course I care about them too. I’m sure that we will help them somehow.

Me: Do you realize that the greatest gap between those very rich and those not, increased with the highest ratio in the 1990’s when the Liberals were in power, and that it declined since 2006 when the Conservatives were in control of government?

T. : Well, I don’t have statistics at hand but I’m sure that’s not so.

Me: The interest that you have in youth is evident also in the fact that you want to legalize marijuana as I’m sure that you realize a great percentage of those who use it are the young people. Do you think by legalizing it, that those underage will not have access to it?

T. : Well we will put in controls so that doesn’t happen.

Me: But the current laws are that it is illegal and yet those who shouldn’t have access still do. How will legalizing it keep that from happening?

T. : Well, we have to be in talks with provinces and so I can’t answer that right now.

Me: Your view and position that the Niqab should be able to be worn during citizenship swearing in, is well-known. The Supreme Court overturned the current P.M. and the ruling was that it was based on religious freedom. Are you aware that this has nothing to do with a religious law, but it is simply a person’s choice as part of the culture of the Muslim. In fact a very small number of the women choose to wear them? In fact in their own country it is illegal for them to be worn in various places; their courts for example.

T. : Well, that doesn’t matter. If they want to wear it during the swearing in they should be able to.

Me: Then it follows that it opens the door for Canadian Laws to have to change for various ‘cultural’ issues of many other immigrants who choose to object to our laws, to just have them changed. Do you think that’s a valid concern?

T. : That’s something I’m not prepared to respond to at this time.

Me: Oh, just one more issue. You plan on reversing the tax regulation that the current P.M. is planning on introducing that will allow income splitting for those who have children under 18. Do you not think that is one way to help the middle-class and those with even less income?

T. : We’ll find other ways, I’m sure

Me: Well I honestly can’t wish you ‘luck’ because I feel you are not qualified enough for the job, and the promises you are proposing are not fiscally or reasonably possible. But then, it’s easy to promise and then rescind those promises and blame the former government for having to do so, isn’t it Mr. T. ? Oh and by the way, the current P.M. didn’t do such a bad job did he? He balanced the budget and Canada is a pretty prosperous and good place to live isn’t it. After all, there are many who choose to come here. We must be doing something right.

3 thoughts on “DP Challenge – FAQ

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

