DP Challenge ‘Daily Ritual’

Prompt: Think about your day. Select one of your daily rituals and explain it to us: why do you do what you do? How did you come to adopt this ritual? What happens on days when you can’t perform it?

WOODPECKER AT SUET

WOODPECKER AT SUET

I was just thinking that my morning duties are now a daily ritual; that of taking care of the various bird feeders that we have for the blue jays, woodpeckers, juncos, sparrows, chickadees; and various others.

SAMSUNG DIGIMAX D530

CHICKADEE

I think of my feathered friends waiting for me each day, and while I know they do get food from other sources they do tend to know where to find my feeders. During the summer they don’t frequent the feeders as much as when the colder weather comes, and the flowers, trees and bushes aren’t available anymore.

BLUEJAY

BLUEJAY

Never-the-less I check them every morning and make sure that the raccoons haven’t knocked down one or two of the feeders. Most of them are squirrel proof, however I do leave some seeds and a few peanuts on the top of a faux wishing well and some on the ground for the ground feeding birds like the mourning doves and juncos.

In the summer there are the hummingbird and the oriole feeders that need the nectar, and for the orioles some grape jelly and orange halves. For some reason later into the summer months, the orioles and hummingbirds have been scarce. Most often when I go out in the morning I’m fighting the wasps around and in the feeders.  I can tell that there have been some birds coming, because the jelly and orange halves have been mostly eaten, so I am reticent to stop putting the food out, regardless of the hoards of wasps that await me. Soon the orioles and hummingbirds will be headed south, but there be an influx of birds who will be returning from their summer migration where they go in early spring; back to our area.

CARDINAL

CARDINAL

If I’m ill my husband will fill all the feeders… so I don’t have to worry.

HUMMINGBIRD FEEDER AND ORIOLE FEEDER

HUMMINGBIRD FEEDER AND ORIOLE FEEDER

I have such a love of birds.

15 thoughts on “DP Challenge ‘Daily Ritual’

  1. Awwww! I want a Chickadee for a pet! Sooo cute :). I can relate to your love of animals – we can’t help but nurture the ones that wander (or fly!) into our lives, can we! It’s uncanny that I just posted something about my caring for the possums and then read this about your love and care of the birdlife.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I keep feeders out as well but don’t attract the orioles, cardinals or blue jays. The bird house/apartment complexes Mike made years ago are now falling apart and need to be replaced but I hate to disturb the tenants. I have suet cakes out, but no takers! I’m bummed now!

    Liked by 1 person

    • Are there trees or bushes of some kind near the feeders? They seem to like to be able to go back and forth to the feeders and bushes? Blue Jays love peanuts in the shell. I leave a few on my railing and they come..(I have to make sure the squirrels aren’t around or they snatch them up) One of the seeds the cardinals love is ‘safflower’ That’s one that I got for them in particular because it happens to be a feeder that is not squirrel proof but they don’t like safflower seeds so they leave it alone… Just some thoughts ! Diane

      Liked by 1 person

  3. How lucky you are to see such beautiful birds in your garden; it must be a joy to sit and watch them. I too believe it important to keep the feeders full to ensure they have a daily food supply other than natural habitats! We have lots of Sparrows, Finches BlueTits and a little Robin that call on us. Nothing better than a cup of tea in the garden whilst I sit and watch them!

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

