The Elephant in the Room

I would suppose many or even most of you have had occasions that could resemble the proverbial ‘elephant in the room’.

Sometimes this could be something that everyone is aware of but no one wants to speak of it. Then there are those times and situations, where it seems only evident to yourself. If it not terribly important in the scheme of life, it’s easy and probably better to ignore it, maybe shake your head and walk away.

On the other hand, there are important issues that happen, and it’s not always easy to clarify or straighten things out. There are times that are so complex. Currently I am facing one of those times. It’s not like I haven’t waded into, what it is that I’d like to clear up, but without being very much more specific, it simply won’t happen.

The problem is that it involves a close relationship. I’ve had some in the not too distant past, and they have been resolved for the most part only recently.

Now with this conundrum, if I choose to open this can of worms, I’m just not sure where it will lead, but If I don’t,  there are others involved as well as me, whose feelings of hurt won’t just fade away.

As a Christian, I do certainly believe in praying about it but sometimes I’m uncertain if God is prodding me to open this subject up, or whether I’m not waiting long enough for a more specific action to take.

I know I have a very sensitive nature; I know that I feel for others; I know that I don’t want to hurt anyone or cause distress…. What I don’t know, is how to achieve the best possible solution for all!  To NOT do something is NOT always the best thing….

Where is the wisdom that I’m supposed to have more abundantly now that I’m older…. ??? If you find it, could you send it to me?

13 thoughts on “The Elephant in the Room

  1. I also have a white Elephant in my Life Diane and it concerns the Blog too, although those who know me understand and have Compassion and Love but those who don’t know or do but are critical of me and wish me harm not good, cannot understand.that the Peace I have comes from knowing God will work all things together for good even if for now the Storm persists.

    As for your White Elephant Diane, be sure you have all the facts and it is not just hearsay, even written evidence can be fabricated which I have found to be True. I too believe in prayer and that God hears and answers what is from our heart spoken in The power of The Holy Spirit and in Faith, if it was time to share you would have no doubts I’m sure.

    Yes as we age Diane we do have Life wisdom but we also need God’s wisdom and His empowering by The Holy Spirit, both of which we ask for and believe we have received, they come from The Lord no one else can give them to us but no doubt you already know this to be True.

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Oh, I’m sorry that you have had this too Anne. It’s something (not fabricated) with some I care about deeply, but I think just misconstruing of issues… timing and opportunity is everything… I believe it will come, not maybe in my timing but God’s.. Thanks for your insight .. Diane

      Like

  2. Ugh. Sometimes it’s really tough to know what to do. Praying for guidance. 🙏 the fact that you’re struggling with this choice is further proof of your sweet sensitivity, which is a gift to the world. 💗

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Gods timing is not our own – continue to meditate and pray. God will reveal to you what you are to do and when. That is always been my problem not waiting on God but forging ahead which always (at least for me) ends in disaster.

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I really like your last line. I often feel the same way about wisdom. I do believe in the old 1960’s expression that if you are not part of the solution you are part of the problem. But age has also taught me that when it comes to relationships, speak only for yourself.

    Liked by 1 person

  5. Hmm… I know the feeling. Not easy to deal with everyone’s emotions and concerns while handling your own and not ruining anyone’s happiness. Still, it’s a fine line to tread but it’s possible. Might consider continuing to wait, or actively seek the best route presented and take it. Sometimes perfection is not possible to reach so you must settle for the next best thing. Good luck to you Diane 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • Yes… the key is really to wait until the time presents itself and I feel okay to talk about it. Better to always wait and be sure that the right atmosphere is present. I think it’s confirmed to do that…Thanks for your thoughts… Diane

      Liked by 1 person

  6. Pingback: The Elephant in the Room | Christians Anonymous

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

