A SECOND THOUGHT.. OR IS IT THIRD?

Today’s assignment for Blogging 101 was varied in choices, and for various reasons I will be doing the latter one.  To revisit a comment I made on a blog today, and do a post furthering the subject and comment I made. I hope that doesn’t totally confuse you.

Anyway, the comment I am furthering is one I made on JMGoyder and her post Happenstance and Happiness. Her thoughts on the fact you can’t buy or negotiate happiness. If you have a few moments, you can follow the link above and read her thoughts.

My comment was in agreement, and the fact that if we concentrate so much on being happy we can actually over-think it. Just to expound it a bit further; if we seek and chase after ‘things or people’ that we think will bring us happiness I believe we’re missing the point of life. Isn’t life after all full of all kinds of feelings; joy, sadness, sorrow, excitement, hurt, depression even. I remember during the times of depression that haunted me for many years. It came and went for most of my adult life. There were times that the word ‘happy’ drove me deeper into the darkness  that enveloped me. Being amongst those who looked, sounded and just ‘were’ happy, caused me to look for the nearest escape.

I think happiness is evolved from dealing whatever life brings along, and to perhaps find those moments in time where we can recognize that we’re not always going to be happy, and that’s okay.

Some days I think we find ourselves with a smile on our face, and with a feeling of contentment in the midst of  and in spite of, whatever challenge we may be facing…. and that’s okay. It’s life isn’t it?

And I think that was the original blogger’s conclusion, with which I agree!

19 thoughts on “A SECOND THOUGHT.. OR IS IT THIRD?

  1. Yes, I knew we would be in agreement Diane we have the same focus about many things, no doubt it’s our Life wisdom as well as God’s wisdom that we have asked for and received and for these we give Thanks.

    I remember when Joy who is also praying for you was diagnosed with Cancer, she was not Happy Clappy but gave thanks like you do that she was not going through it alone and that God was with her as we see confirmed in the Scripture below.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Joy is a Chaplain both for Adults and Children in the Hospitals where she lives, she has witnessed much suffering but also God’s Loving intervention, I will be sharing her Story on my Blog and my own hopefully next week.

    Blessings – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I also agree Diane that it is not about being Happy Clappy all the time but having deep inner Joy and this is even when we have tears in our eyes, it comes from knowing without doubt we are Loved by God and that He is with us through all the ups and downs life brings and that He will give us His strength to endure and His inner Joy to overcome.

    Jesus was known as a man of sorrows and acquainted with grief but He never doubted His Fathers Love or goodness and nor need we. Even on the Cross when He bore our sin and so became fully man and was than separated from God, He still asked Him to forgive knowing it was not the Fathers will that anyone perishes.

    Blessings in Christ Jesus – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. What a great post, Diane. Many define their own personal happiness differently as you noted. I loved your point about contentment – the ability to remember no matter what challenges we face, it’s okay not to be happy! Reality of life. Tomorrow always brings that opportunity for happiness to shine brightly again! 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I would add to that, that we can help in that finding things to be thankful for daily, taking on an attitude of gratitude helps. What we focus on will become us. This is stuff I’ve been learning over the last year.

    Liked by 1 person

    • That’s a good point… A fellow blogger recently posted how she takes pictures of her blessings as they occur… like vacation, like time that she shares with people, like a walk outside..etc. and when she is a bit down or just wants to remind herself of the good times etc. she only need look at the photos to remind her… I thought that was great. I think I’ll take a picture of my laundry today lol Wally’s away helping Jim with a reno and I’m just chillin’ and doing laundry. Not everyone has a washer and dryer to do the work (maybe stretching it a bit… but it’s true)… Diane

      Liked by 1 person

      • What a great idea! The laundry too. I’m also learning to thank God for the chores. That I’m still able to do them. That I can walk and like you said that I have a house/laundry to get messy. It sure helps switch my focus from the negative.

        Liked by 1 person

  5. Thank you for this! So true. It’s just life and there is no manual that comes along with it on how to do it the “right way.” It’s about enjoying the passage of time and perspective – and accepting that there are never any guarantees.

    Liked by 1 person

  6. Thanks for your thoughts Diane. I have fallen so far behind with Blogging 101 but have followed your posts even so.

    Perhaps happiness isn’t a destination? What if its part of the journey? I think it all depends on how you define happiness and sometimes I believe its contentment we mean when we talk about happiness.

    If this is the case, then even when one is challenged by sadness or other such feelings which seem to oppose the happiness we’re supposed to aspire to, then its easier to understand that those so called negative feelings have a place in our human experience. They allow us to recognise ‘happiness’ when it smiles upon us and appreciate it its presence, however fleeting.

    Liked by 1 person

  7. I sometimes wonder whether a glut of happiness can make us immune to the experience of happiness itself? We feel happy because we’ve known sorrow and the contrast makes our happiness more intense. Doesn’t it? You are right. Happiness doesn’t come from chasing its elusive concept, but it comes from letting yourself experience life.

    Liked by 2 people

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

