D.P. Might as Well Jump or ‘Not’

Today’s assignment for Blogging 101 is to select a ‘Daily Post Prompt’ and write about it. I chose this one.

Prompt: What’s the biggest risk you’d like to take — but haven’t been able to? What would have to happen to make you comfortable taking it?

I tried to think about some risk; actually any risk that I’d like to take and really couldn’t.

Throughout my life I suppose I’ve stepped out of my comfort zone on occasion, but I’m not a big ‘risk taker’. I’ve lived my life facing many adversities, with depression, multiple sclerosis and other medical issues, loss of loved ones and in general I guess all of the various trials any person or family faces in life.

Some I would suppose consider that it is rather boring not to take a risk of some kind,  not adventurous at all.  My life has been anything but boring, with lots of drama but also lots of joy. From the moment that we were married and had our three children and then grandchildren and not to be forgotten our one great-granddaughter, life has not been dull. Learning to be parents is full of surprises and pitfalls. We kept very close the handbook of parenting;  Dr. Spock… not the Dr. Spock of Star Wars… but the renown Pediatrician of our generation and his ‘Baby and Childcare’. If the baby’s crying and we can’t figure out why, look it up in his book; if he’s got a suspicious rash look it up to see if we should be taking him to the doctor or emergency. I lost count I think of how many times we thought he had measles or chicken pox…. but alas it was only a heat rash.  I should note that in retrospect Dr. Spock was not always right, but in the moments of  sheer terror that we as new parents sometimes felt, he was the ‘port in the storm’. Ahh yes, I remember it so well!

Although my husband and I have differences in our personalities, the one thing we do have in common is that neither of us are fond of taking risks. We weren’t afraid to step out in faith different times in our marriage; everyone has to make decisions, but if there was any chance that something had an element of not being in the best interest of us as a family, we just didn’t do it.

The security of everyone’s well being and safety was paramount in our lives, and still is. Maybe we missed out on some opportunities, but when I look back on our lives……. it’s okay; we’re content and we’ve been blessed!

 

12 thoughts on “D.P. Might as Well Jump or ‘Not’

  1. You make a strong point for not reinventing the wheel and not taking needless risks. I too can’t imagine myself climbing the Mount Everest or jumping out of a helicopter with a parachute that has maybe .001% chance of not opening…so I am not a big risk-taker either…at least not yet 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Thanks for sharing Diane yours and your husband’s focus on risk taking, I agree, your view sounds safe to me .

    My Blog was a big risk, I had left a few comments on a Aussie Blog and the Blog owner suggested I start my own Blog but with being Dyslectic and unable to write fluently, I protested but she said that I had a lot to share that would help others, so I agreed and she than set it up for me and at first I didn’t even know I was in America but I was excited when I found out.

    The names I chose for my Blog were rejected, so I prayed and Freedomborn became a reality but when I put Freedomborn in my Spell Check it corrects it as Freedom, which is what my Blog is all about, Freedom in Christ Jesus. I Now write fluently on Blogs and in comments but I still find it hard to write a personal letter, it takes me a long time.

    God bless you greatly Diane – Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

  3. Your outlook is so inspirational. I like how you said “learning to be parents.” I don’t think that learning process ever ends, does it? I think there’s a lot to be said for transitioning through life gracefully, and you seem to know how to do that so well. 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

    • You’re right Kelly, it really doesn’t end even though our adult children have children and one has a grandchild… but we still are concerned and protective of them.. Just as a side note: my daughter who lives near Chicago, just lost her beloved cat and is so heartbroken and I still wish I could ‘make it all better for her’…. Thanks for your lovely comment! Diane

      Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

