Strength of Heart

Yesterday for Blogging 101 we were to read and comment on at least 4 blogs. Today we are to do a post relating back to one of those. The one I guess that resonated very strongly is the post I read at Good Time Stories

It was a short post but very poignant and heart rending,  with a photo of a young man who just graduated, beside his father who obviously was living in poverty.

The reason it meant something to me was that I worked for the last 13 years, before retiring on disability for a Christian Humanitarian Organization; World Vision Canada. There was a story about how I got the job, and I have written about it, but I knew I was supposed to be there, and God had a hand in it. My heart had always been touched with the poverty in third world countries, and the people most especially the children who had so much hardship.

When I was young and had my first child, and was feeding him one day there was a program on the television about the crisis in Biafra. Here I was feeding my child and not having to worry if there would be food enough for tomorrow, while watching the tragedy of starvation of thousands of children. The question that came immediately to my mind was… “what would I do if my child was crying and hungry and I had nothing to give him”? From that moment on, my heart was troubled and I would try when I could to help with donations from time to time.

I worked in the Donor Accounts Department when I began and then the Telephone Operations Department. There was interaction with donors, and also overseas staff who would explain what was going on in the various countries.  Whenever I was processing donations, speaking on the phone with donors, answering questions about the various aspects of what our work involved, I always felt that I was not doing a job and shuffling papers; instead I thought about all the children and of course all the people that were at the receiving end of all the work that I did. They were not statistics, they were people like you and I;  families who loved and were loved, just as the young man and his father in the photo displayed on the post that I read, on Good Time Stories.

Note: While the emphasis was on overseas poverty, it of course is/was recognized there is poverty in our own country, and help is also given there. The difference is that in Canada for example, there are various resources that help may come from, whereas in many of the poorer countries in lands abroad, they just don’t exist.

8 thoughts on “Strength of Heart

  1. I think I know how you felt, from the moment I was asked to sponsor my first child (which I said no to) I felt troubled and kept having a pull to Compassion International’s website. Eventually I came around and sponsored and I now I child advocate. Also like you said there are no resources in many of the poorer countries, That is why God calls his people to help. On another note I am really liking your new blog design and your new profile picture is very nice touch.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Very True Diane, they are not just statistics, they are people like us and as Scripture confirms (see below) God feels very strongly about the need for all of us to show His Love and Compassion to others not just in words but in actions as we reach out to a hurting World which has many starving Children and also to their Parents who are hurting as they watch helplessly their Children suffer and die and we are to seek to help others who are in need too, especially those in the Body of Christ our Spiritual Brothers and Sisters.

    Matthew 25:34 -46 Then shall the King say unto them on His right hand, Come, ye blessed of my Father, inherit the Kingdom prepared for you from the foundation of the world: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me in: Naked, and ye clothed me: I was sick, and ye visited me: I was in prison, and ye came unto me.

    Then shall the righteous answer Him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, and fed thee? or thirsty, and gave thee drink? When saw we thee a stranger, and took thee in? or naked, and clothed thee? Or when saw we thee sick, or in prison, and came unto thee? And The King shall answer and say unto them, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye have done it unto one of the least of these my brethren, ye have done it unto me.

    Then shall He say also unto them on the left hand, Depart from me, ye cursed, into everlasting fire, prepared for the devil and his angels: For I was an hungred, and ye gave me no meat: I was thirsty, and ye gave me no drink: I was a stranger, and ye took me not in: naked, and ye clothed me not: sick, and in prison, and ye visited me not. Then shall they also answer Him, saying, Lord, when saw we thee an hungred, or athirst, or a stranger, or naked, or sick, or in prison, and did not minister unto thee? Then shall He answer them, saying, Verily I say unto you, Inasmuch as ye did it not to one of the least of these, ye did it not to me. And these shall go away into everlasting punishment: but the righteous into life eternal.

    1 John 3:16-18 By this we know Love, because He laid down His life for us. And we also ought to lay down our lives for the brethren. But whoever has this world’s goods, and sees his brother in need, and shuts up his heart from him, how does the Love of God abide in Him? My little children, let us not Love in word or in tongue, but in deed and in Truth. ( N.K.J.V)

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

