Hmmm …. To Follow or Not to Follow… That is the Question !

Day three of Blogging 101 asks us to follow five new topics in the Reader and five new blogs.

For me this is a difficult one to do for a couple of reasons. Since I began blogging, I have sometimes gone to the reader to read the current blogs I follow, but I find that I prefer to do so through email notifications. I see them all a one time, and for me it just works better.

Occasionally I access the Reader and scan topics, but I do so when in fact I have time. That isn’t too often lately, because of personal health issues and fatigue. But aside from that even, I do follow quite a number of blogs, and when I commit to do that, I want to read what they write. Sometimes I fall behind in this, but try to catch up. Add that fact to taking time to actually write a post, at least 2 or 3 a week when I can.

There is of course life outside of blogging as we all know, so I don’t like to try to over-extend myself. For me, it just isn’t right.

Having said that, I do visit sites of those who ‘like’ or ‘comment’ a post, or who ‘follow’ me, and who are new visitors. I must admit that I do not automatically follow everyone who does so, but if when I read a post or two, their writing and content I really identify with, I will either like, comment or even follow if the inclination is strong. As most of us know, there are some bloggers who ‘follow’ at random and don’t really invest any time in actually reading, but only so that you will visit their blog. I actually keep a folder of the notification of those who do, to see if they ever return to my site, and read anything and if so I may take another look at their site.

And actually because of meeting a couple of bloggers who I do identify with, through this Blogging 101, I have ‘followed’ them.

So, there you have it; my thoughts on reading and following blogs…. Diane

19 thoughts on “Hmmm …. To Follow or Not to Follow… That is the Question !

  1. I can identify with what you shared Diane, to me Blogging is a conversation that hopefully develops into a friendship but this does not always happen as you shared, sometimes. it is one sided

    I think the worst I have experienced over my 4 years of Blogging is commenting and being deleted or ignored without Scriptural confirmation I’m in error, I also do not value a like on my comment as a response.

    God tells us to do unto others what we want them to do for us, so does that mean they want me to ignore and delete their comments too.

    I pray that God will lead me to those who need His encouragement and Truth and to know how much He Loves them.

    Christian Love Always – Anne

    Liked by 1 person

    • Somehow I missed this comment Anne. It is difficult sometimes to realize that not all bloggers have the same courtesy or place the same value with the communication when reading or commenting on blogs. For myself, I try not to give much credence to the difference and just accept it…. and maintain the good relationships that I have. Sometimes I ‘unfollow’ a blog if it just isn’t receptive at all… and other times I follow regardless if I am so lead to do.. Diane

      Liked by 1 person

      • But you always consider others Diane, your very faithful to encourage,support, it’s not all about you as shown in the Scripture below, thank you for your faithfulness.

        Philippians 2:1-6 If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of Love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any bowels and mercies, Fulfill ye my joy, that ye be like-minded, having the same Love, being of one accord, of one mind. Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

        Blessings – Anne.

        Liked by 1 person

  2. I pretty much do as you do. I did not know a lot about blogging when I started my blog. So I just followed the blogs that I truly liked reading, ones that interested me. I still do that. I do not follow for a follow, which really makes no sense at all to me as to why someone would want to have someone follow if they don’t read or are not interested in what is written on the blog. I also follow blogs who have never been to my blog, like I said I follow because I like what they write period. I do my following through the reader though because I like to set the reader to where it shows only the blogs I follow and just work my way down them to where I last left off. I also try to visit each blogger who visits my blog and if I like what I read then I follow. Sometimes I do get behind on reading because there are just so many good blogs and I could never ever read them all! though I do think I read a lot more than I write because I tend to have writers block most of the time. lol. I could actually write a post about this too and all the things I have encountered from angry bloggers to….well I may save it for a post instead of filling up your comment box 🙂 Great post btw!

    Liked by 1 person

  3. Personally, I’d rather follow blogs that interest me and I can connect with. I want to be a loyal reader. I may not have time to comment on each, but I try. I’d rather have 10 followers who care about me and what I have to say than 100 who never come back. Deb.💛

    Liked by 1 person

  4. I feel the same way. Unfortunately, there’s just not enough time in the day to read and follow all the wonderful blogs out there. But at least you have a system, Diane! Excellent!

    Like

  5. I have noticed myself reading blogs through email too. I never thought about keeping up with all my readers this way but its a idea. Do you come back and comment or do you comment through email?

    Like

  6. Great post Diane! Balance, always on the “to do” list isn’t it? I enjoy reading you blog and just like you, find myself catching up! Enjoy your day! 🙂

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

