Daily Post – Four Stars –

Prompt:  Write a review of your life — or the life of someone close to you — as if it were a movie or a book.

To quote partially Charles Dickens, “It was the best of times, it was the worst of times …………… “

Born almost 70 years ago into a somewhat dysfunctional family, the last of 10 children to a mother who loved fiercely and yet unconditionally, and to a man who shouldn’t have been a father, but was! His addiction to alcohol and other vices over-rode the desire to be content within the family unit, and just couldn’t be the ‘daddy’ who would hold his children, and let them know he loved them. Perhaps he did, as much as was possible for him to do, but sadly his children could not understand. Our mother made the difference in our lives, and of course our faith.

My journey into adulthood was fraught with some insecurities and a sense that I was different from other children and families. I could not really envision my future, and yet even though I couldn’t, God could. As scripture reveals in Jeremiah 29:11 11 For I know the plans I have for you,” declares the Lord, “plans to prosper you and not to harm you, plans to give you hope and a future.”

Indeed my future included, being married to a wonderful man and having three beautiful children and then 9 grandchildren and even a great-grandchild.

The road however was not always smooth; there were many bumps in it and detours along the way. There was sadness, depression, health and relationship issues.

Ahhh,  but there was joy beyond measure, there was an abundance of love, there was healing, there were reconciliations, there was the realization that whatever happened in my life, had a purpose and it brought me to the point where I am today. Without any part of it I wouldn’t be who I am, or have the blessings in my life that I have.

I believe that most of us have the best of times and the worst of times; it’s what we learn along the way and to use that knowledge to help others with similar struggles, and maybe… just maybe… make their road and path a little easier.

22 thoughts on “Daily Post – Four Stars –

  1. You are right. We all have different problems and issues in our lives, but that is the common thread of humanity. I think remembering that someone else may be going through a bad time in their life, and that’s why they seem to be such an angry checker. Treat everyone kindly, and with love, and the whole world changes.

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

