Allow Me My Grief – Poem

I wrote this for some dear friends that are going through the grieving process, and while they long for that time when healing has taken place, it has not fully come yet. This is a poem to perhaps express some of what they are feeling…. at least it’s my perception. Diane

Allow Me My Grief

I know that you’re aware

That grief lives alongside me

I’ve not yet let it go

Because I’m just not ready

 

God doesn’t have a watch

That He constantly looks at

He knows that I’m still hurting

There is no ‘timing stat’

 

The one I loved, was such a part

Of everything I did

There is therefore someone missing

Please don’t ask me to forbid

 

Don’t forbid me the memories

Don’t forbid my tears that flow

Don’t forbid the sadness in me

That is there, where ‘ere I go

 

I know that you perhaps don’t know

That sadness holds no time

If so, I would set my clock

And from my grief, I’d climb

 

So know that here within me

I long to know that day

When sadness from me withers

And healing joy within will stay

 

For now allow me all the time

Don’t take my grief away

Just know that when I’m ready

It no more with me will stay.

 

I know that you don’t like to see

The sadness that is within

It’s hard for you to understand

But one day, joy will win.

24 thoughts on “Allow Me My Grief – Poem

  1. Thank you – my pastor said something today about how we all grieve differently and then a dear friend and I were at lunch and she asked me how I was doing and we talked about Tom and she reassured me of God’s love, His plan, her love and that I am doing good listening to God and allowing Him to let me know when I am ready for the next step and that He is with me each step I take. Your poem just fit in to the theme of the day and as the two yr anniversary comes closer I appreciate your insight to the hearts of those of us who grieve.

    Like

  2. Thank you Diane, it is True,Tears are a gift from God and so are all our emotions except the ones motivated by sin, what we do about them matters.

    It’s True, we don’t have to be Happy Clappy when we are hurting that is what the world propagates, it tells us … Smile and the world smiles with you cry and you cry alone but Jesus knows our hearts, He knows when we are grieving or suffering under a heavy load and He says to us ……..

    Matthew 11:28 -30 Come unto me, all ye that labour and are heavy laden, and I will give you rest.Take my yoke upon you, and learn of me; for I am meek and lowly in heart: and ye shall find rest unto your souls.For my yoke is easy, and my burden is light.

    Jesus also motivates us to reach out in Love to those who need His compassion and help, He knows those who are wanting what only He can give, which is His Peace and Rest, He will dry their tears as they accept Eternal Hope found only in Him.

    Romans 12:15 Rejoice with them that do rejoice, and weep with them that weep.

    Galatians 6:2 Bear ye one anther’s burdens, and so fulfill the law of Christ.

    2 Corinthians 1:3-5 Blessed be God, even the Father of our Lord Jesus Christ, the Father of mercies, and the God of all comfort; Who comforteth us in all our tribulation, that we may be able to comfort them which are in any trouble, by the comfort wherewith we ourselves are comforted of God. For as the sufferings of Christ abound in us, so our consolation also aboundeth by Christ.

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne.

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

