A Little Follow-up

 

Not the best picture ever!

Not the best picture ever!

I wrote a few days ago about getting sick and the episode of having chicken soup so I thought I’d give a follow-up with this past week.

As it turns out; on Wednesday last week I started to feel unwell; by Thursday night it has escalated and I was having trouble breathing. When Friday came, I went to the doctor and was told I had pneumonia, and was given some antibiotics. This was my third time this winter with pneumonia, and I have had the vaccination for pneumonia, but as the doctor said, it only is one strain that is put in vaccines and there are multiple ones.

I went home with the medication sure that it would do the job quickly, and I could still have the procedure tomorrow. Unfortunately they didn’t, and I had to go back to the doctor this past Tuesday, and as I knew I was worse instead of better. So I am on an increase in dosage, plus a steroid and puffers, and need to go back on Monday.

Of course I had to contact the doctor doing the procedure and advise them, which was a feat in itself, but I finally got through to an ‘actual live person’, to cancel and explain. I amazingly got another appointment for next Thursday as she had a cancellation. When I talked to her I was pretty frustrated at all that has occurred, and I took a few minutes to express the fact that it has taken so long, and I wondered why the doctor (surgeon) doing it, was not going to correct the problem, but just ‘look at it’. She agreed and said it didn’t make sense and was sure they would do it at the same time. I think that she may even let the doctor know of my concerns.

Okay, one revelation that came to me about prayer. There are many opinions on prayer; one being that prayers are not answered, one is that God already knows the outcome so why pray, and some just don’t believe at all in prayer, except when a traumatic situation happens in their life, or they just don’t believe in prayer at all. I have been so blessed to have many people praying for me, so one might say (as I did), why have I now got pneumonia, and have to cancel an appointment that has been booked for weeks…. “Why God”?

Today I was once more reminded that when we pray, we pray for what we think is best but don’t allow that something negative should then happen, and the answer will not be as we think it should.

The fact that I had felt many reservations about having this procedure done (in the esophagus area), because I really felt upset that the surgeon told me they wouldn’t do the complete process, until they did another test; and I’m thinking why, if they go and see that what they told me was the problem…. ‘was’, then why wouldn’t they fix it there and then. I know, we have to trust them but sometimes their answers just don’t make sense.

So, by this being delayed, because of illness, at least I got to voice my concern and maybe it will make a difference. Did God give me this pneumonia; of course not, but He used it for a good purpose.

It occurred to me, that what I saw as the process and urgency to just get this done and over with, with reservations, it was ultimately an answer to the many prayers that have been lifted up on my behalf, whereby it was delayed.

Thanks for indulging me, but I just wanted to share and give an update, and thank you for prayers given on my behalf.

p.s. I just realize the title is a misnomer especially the word ‘little’… sorry ’bout that!

32 thoughts on “A Little Follow-up

  1. God’s ways are not our ways and His timing is perfect. I see God working through all you have had to endure. Rest in His promises and He will see you through. Continued hugs and prayers…

    Like

  2. I’m pleased your felling better Diane and so very True what you shared, God does not afflict us but He does bring good from all things in our life and holds our hand as we walk through the Storm.

    Joshua 1:9 Have not I commanded thee? Be strong and of a good courage; be not afraid, neither be thou dismayed: for the Lord thy God is with thee whithersoever thou goest.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Blessings Anne.

    Liked by 1 person

    • Thank you Paige, yesterday I didn’t cough as much… although it is still active.. my oxygen level is a bit better…. I’m glad if anything I said in prayer gave you food for thought…. Diane

      Like

  3. I’m so sorry that you have pneumonia yet again! Holy cow!, praying that you get better soon and your surgery is able to be done and you will be on the mend in no time! Xx deb

    Liked by 1 person

  4. Dear one,
    I am so sorry to hear you have been so ill! My goodness I wish I could come bring you a meal or tea. I am happy to hear your faith has been your guide and companion through this trial. Please know I am thinking of you and sending you love.

    Like

  5. Found your update! With your faith and outlook, you can get through anything. That is where the real blessing lies. Hang in there – one day at a time. You’re an inspiration to all who read this 🙂

    Like

  6. I’m happy Dianne you still gonna get the process done next week a miracle on its own . .
    and ya it never makes sense why these things go around the bush “so to say”. .
    But have agree with Zoe though, mysterious ways he work’s our God!
    Take lots of care
    sending love lisa

    Like

    • I am thankful too, and unless I am still coughing next Thursday they will do it..even if I’m not completely well… ‘just not coughing’.. ‘mysterious ways indeed’… thanks Lisa.. Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

