Chicken Soup ‘good for a cold’?

We were on our way to see my sister and husband today, to just plan for our holiday that we’re going on together, at the end of April. It’s about a 2 hour drive, and about 1/2 hour into the drive I began to cough and sneeze a bit. I couldn’t believe that I was getting sick; not with upcoming appointments and tests to be done this week and next! But clearly I was.

As soon as we reached their place, my husband went to the drugstore to buy ‘something’ to see if I could stop this cold from getting any worse. I took a couple of cold capsules, and still of course the symptoms persisted. When we got home, I thought I’d look online for some magic recipe or potion that would ‘cure all’. However, nothing promised instant success but I noted that the good old ‘chicken noodle soup’ was still recommended. So I immediately put some on.

Just a little reminder of my recent history of a problem still with my esophagus, and food sticking; therefore having to stick with a liquid or soft diet until further tests are done. But chicken soup….no problem, right? Wrong………

I had taken a few mouthfuls, when I knew something wasn’t right, but still it didn’t really clue into my overly tired ‘brain’ that it was the soup. I thought that it was the congestion of the cold! However, it didn’t take too long to determine that this soup was just not going down into the stomach.

Anyway, I’ll spare you the details but suffice to say it took me an hour or more before all of those teeny tiny noodles along with the broth, made their way up again. The surgeon had warned me about things getting stuck possibly, and being a serious situation, but who’d have thought?

Chicken noodle soup ????

p.s. any suggestions? One of the tests next week is a gastroscopy, and if I’m coughing, they won’t do it, and on and on it goes! Prayers appreciated also……  Diane

26 thoughts on “Chicken Soup ‘good for a cold’?

  1. Sorry I have not been around much to catch up on post sorry to hear you have had a cold, I can remember my dear Mum catching colds. I have to watch it now when I do emphysema I got from second hand smoke due to one ex husband. So I get a flu shot each year now. Helps.Glad you recovered, your posts are so delicate and heart warming.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. I am praying for you. I won’t make any other suggestions, some of the above sounds good. I know you have to be careful with supplements if you are on other medications.

    Papa and I had quite a discussion recently about oil pulling and its history. If you want me to share about it, just email as it would be lengthy. I have not yet tried it, but may.

    Liked by 1 person

  3. oh my Diane, you have your share of trials – I pray for you daily and will add an extra “arrow” prayer up that something is done for you soon. You should not have to go through all of that. {{Hugs}}

    Like

    • Patty, I was looking at my ‘spam’ folder to empty it…but there was a comment from you in there to my post ‘outlook is everything’… I didn’t even read it, I just clicked on ‘not spam’ and expected it to turn up under the post, and then I’d read it…but it has just disappeared into blogosphere somewhere and so I never got to read it. Maybe it will turn up eventually, but thought I’d tell you in case you wondered why I didn’t respond… Diane

      Like

  4. Oh so sorry to hear about this Diane! I am praying for you. I know how frustrating and exhausting medical tests can be. And to be postponed is adding to the stress.

    There is a really good totally herbal medicine called ;Prospan’. It is a liquid and helped me a lot with my last cough. I am not sure if you have it in you region. But I just saw in the comments that you are on antibiotics. I wish you a speedy recovery. Hugs, Ilka

    Like

  5. I was very sick Diane for a long time, the drug I have taken for over 25 years to control my chronic skin condition is toxic, the sores were even in my hair and they couldn’t help me with other remedies but the drug does weaken my immune system so I had colds and flue symptoms repeatedly and was in bed more than out of it.

    But than a friend suggested Probiotics the ones you get at the Chemist they are kept in the fridge and have 25 Billion good Bactria, Yoghurt etc made very little difference, these are much stronger.

    I rarely suffer from a cold or flue in comparison to 4 years ago, these may not help you instantly Diane but will keep you well for the future, I must add though I thank God for them often, they are one of His tools.

    Praying for you Diane and I’m very thankful for your friendship , advice and prayers.

    Christian Love Always – Anne

    Like

    • Thanks Anne.. I’ll look into that when things settle down for awhile. I’ve got appointments coming ‘out my ears’… so to speak. I did go to the doctor’s today, as I was feeling really bad and had trouble in the night breathing… and I have pneumonia… so got an xray and antibiotics… Hopefully it will start to work right away… Diane

      Liked by 1 person

  6. So sorry for your struggle!! About everything I can think of you need to swallow. Maybe oil pulling? Swishing coconut oil for 10-30 minutes?? Good luck and God bless! 8)

    Like

  7. So sorry to hear this, Diane. The procedure itself is just exploratory and doesn’t take long, as I’m sure you know. You’ll be in my thoughts and prayers for a quick resolution. Take care.

    Like

    • Thanks Kelly.. I’ve had this procedure over the past 4 years about 5 or 6 times, but I just feel that if I have a cough they won’t want to do it… and I need to get this issue resolved.. so that’s why I’m a little uptight!… and I have an app’t today with a Cardiologist too…. Thanks for prayers… Diane

      Liked by 1 person

      • You remind me of my own mom right now- she had a few health issues hit her all at the same time. I’m sure it’s very stressful. If it helps, I just keep telling her to take one day at a time, don’t borrow trouble when you don’t have all the facts, and set some time aside each day for some relaxation techniques. All the best to you.

        Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

