An Interesting Conversation

Conversation between Grandson (in his 20’s) and me, where we talked of God and the Bible. He had several questions about certain things he had heard.

  • If a man was to sexually abuse a child he could ask for repentance because he knows how to, but because the child isn’t old enough, they go to ‘Hell’ and how was that fair?

I asked him where he heard this outrageous thing and he couldn’t recall but said he would try to remember, or find out and email me. I said of course a child would never be sent to hell period, as until they are old enough to know what sin is, and know about Jesus God would not do that, and besides that fact, those who are abused are never blamed by God, as they are not guilty of anything.

  • He also asked why God did miracles in the old times, but yet with all the starving children etc. why didn’t He do miracles now, and help them.

I said God does do miracles today, but that as far as the poor etc. and starving, that God gave free will to ‘man’ and so if they do bad things like war, and not feeding the hungry, God needed others to be His hands to help feed those people. Man causes this and we need to pray about it and help the poor etc. He will not control us as a ‘puppet’. I told him of a miracle that God did do for a missionary and his wife. The one where the people went to their house to kill them and burn their house down, and gathered outside, and the missionary and wife knew they were likely going to die, but all of a sudden noticed all the people who came to harm them, just left! The next day the chief came to them to ask about this God they came to teach them about. Perplexed, the missionary had to ask why they didn’t kill them the previous night, but left. The Chief said; because of all the soldiers surrounding their house, and on the roof. The Missionary then knew, there were no soldiers, but God sent angels to help them.

  • He also found it hard to believe that a sea could part, like Moses did, or how could Jonah be actually in the belly of a whale and live 3 days.
  • I told Him that Moses couldn’t do it with just waving his staff, but it was God that did it using Moses  

As far as Jonah, why was this any harder to believe than Mary, being a virgin and having a child, or Moses’ staff turning into a snake. I told him that Jonah didn’t want to go where God told him to go, and that when he was swallowed by a whale, he knew he had to obey God, and when he did go to Nineveh, many thousands believed and began following Jesus.         

         He also asked about ‘money being the root of all evil’

I told him it was the LOVE of money that was the root of all evil. Money can do good things but if we focus on it too much, it is like an idol that we are worshipping instead of God.

  • He also asked about the fact people judge other people, and the Bible says not to.

I said that it was true, we are not to judge another or we also will be judged, but that we can ‘not like’ something someone does, and leave it up to God to judge him.

  • He said that he thinks a person should pray before he sins, to be forgiven.

I don’t think he was serious about this, but simply said we should try not to sin, but God wouldn’t forgive us if we prayed before, and then decided to do the sin. In other words we can ask forgiveness if we do sin, but not plan to, and then expect God to forgive.

I also got a chance to talk with one of my granddaughters, who told me she was seeing a young man (who had incidentally the name of ‘Adam’). She said he was a bit of a ‘nerd’ but she liked him and had been seeing him for two months. Apparently, he doesn’t drink or smoke or do drugs. I said to her, that maybe he was even a Christian. She said that she believed he was.

  • NOTE: I pray for my grandchildren of course, and my prayers include the request that God somehow bring something or someone who is a Christian, into their life. My grandson said that he actually listened sometimes to a Christian radio station. I know that the first question was not motivated by the radio station, but I believe from someone he knows. Wherever these questions came from, I am grateful, because it gave me a chance to talk about God, and address some of his concerns and misconceptions. These conversations took place because our two sons and wives were coming to have breakfast with my husband and I this morning, and two of our grandchildren decided to come too.

I recount all of this to encourage parents and grandparents and other family members, that when we lift up those we love in prayer, we don’t know always what is going on in their lives, and we can’t know how God is working in them. I can’t tell you how I felt after breakfast this morning. I believe God ordained this breakfast and what happened because He knew that ‘I needed to realize’ yet again, the importance of prayer and the results of it. I am not a theologian but only a follower of Christ, and did my best to answer the questions.

14 thoughts on “An Interesting Conversation

  1. What a blessing to be able to minister to your grandson! Your words reminded me so much of Mike’s questions to me several years ago and ultimately he came to accept Jesus’ offer and was baptized. Such a wonderful day for him, our family and all who had been praying for him! May you have many many more questions asked of you!

    Like

  2. It would be good Diane if some of those in Churches asked these questions, I was told my 7 babies who died at Birth or during gestation had gone to hell by a Pastor and those in his Bible Study including his wife. They weren’t interested in seeing the Scripture that showed they were in error, I was told this because I wasn’t a Christian when they were conceived but God tells us a Child is not punished because of the sins of their Parents including omission. How can they believe that our God of Love would send a baby to suffer eternally because it can’t understand Salvation, how very sad that they do.

    You are right Diane we don’t judge critically others shortcomings and weaknesses, we all have them and when we do it’s our plank that is bigger than their speck. We also don’t judge anyone’s eternal Destiny, they may come to heart repentance on their death bed by the good seeds that have been planted in their lives, as you have now done with your Grandson.

    But God tells us to rebuke those who sin in the Church and correct error and warn of danger, to do so we have to judge them but we do this in Love and for Love, remembering we too were forgiven, it is not Love to watch Satan gets a foothold in someones life and just look the other way, we are all responsible for keeping the Church pure, starting with ourselves but we do not rebuke etc using a fleshy agenda but with God’s Truth as confirmed in Scripture.

    2 Timothy 3:1-17 All Scripture is given by inspiration of God and is profitable for doctrine, for reproof, for correction, for instruction in righteousness: That the Man/Woman of God may be perfect, thoroughly furnished unto all good works. (KJV)

    Thank you Diane for investing good in your Grandson’s life, hopefully he will also ask for God’s wisdom and empowering, something we all need to do.

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne.

    Like

  3. What a precious conversation. I pray for my loved ones too and let God work in their hearts. I made books of my life and devotions too which I am going ti give soon to my children. my witness to them and the next generation

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

