Valentine’s Day – Who is it For?

 

Photo Credit Stockvault.net

Photo Credit
Stockvault.net

Of course, the first thing that comes to mind for Valentine’s Day is the usual, romantic love between couples. There are a lot of other faces/facets though in my opinion that this day should do, and does for many people, represent love and caring and appreciation of others in our lives.

There’s nothing wrong with a day of celebration of that special romance of  love, but I believe for example we should also show a bit of that love to the lady down the street who lives alone, but who is a very encouraging and friendly soul, and would do anything she could to help any of her neighbours.

What about a family member who doesn’t now have their spouse;  to take this day to just to remind them that they are loved.

What about that person  that you know right now, who is not feeling very well either physically or emotionally and whose face may light up even for a time, by a special acknowledgement on this day!

The most common thing that is given on this day is chocolates, flowers, cards and maybe that special piece of jewelry… even taking this romantic day to get engaged.

Actually this year instead of flowers or the usual, I got two big bags of bird seed! Now some would say that is so totally unromantic, but my husband knows how special it is for me to have my bird feeders, and sometimes the cost is a bit prohibitive for us on our pensions. So instead of spending the money on something that has a limited life span, such as flowers he got me the seed.

For me, that was the most thoughtful gift he could have given. He knows me very well, but I guess after 51 years he should!  (Oh, I did get a card too!)

We got that special neighbour some yellow roses… for her special friendship, and to satisfy her sweet tooth that she has, some cupcakes with pink fluffy icing.

Happy Valentine’s Day… !   Diane

 

 

19 thoughts on “Valentine’s Day – Who is it For?

  1. It’s a day we never celebrated while I was residing in Latvia, just recently it tries to get some place with roses and chocolates over there, and it’s really unclear who should celebrate it because the story of Valentine is rather sad, but if we take that everybody who deserves to be loved is getting some small acknowledgement and some gift, is fair and nice. I told my husband not to buy these Valentine’s day roses because they’re pushed out on chemicals and they don’t last. This year he bought potted roses, the tiny ones. I’m happy to hear you got bird seeds since they really need them at the moment. I was standing on the porch for a small while and I was angry with myself because the chickadees are suffering and I haven’t put any seeds in their feeder. If they are not fed in winter, only 1 of each 10 survives. So, you’re doing such a great job when helping our birds. I hope you had a nice day yesterday!

    Like

    • Thank you … I had a very nice but quiet day. I still am a wee bit tired from the surgery …. but am feeling a lot better than I was… I do worry about the birds especially in the winter as I know they have to eat to get warm enough to survive the cold especially the nights…. so I like to make sure the feeders are full… and I have a heated bird bath from which they can also get a drink… Diane

      Like

  2. How wonderful to know others care and what uplifting and encouraging advice you gave Diane, sadly some are just too busy, I received an e-mail a few years ago which I Posted that warns us how the Devil makes sure we are kept that way, so we don’t have time to do what is important and one of those important things is being there for others and showing we care, as we see confirmed in the Scripture below.

    Philippians 2:1-6 If there be therefore any consolation in Christ, if any comfort of Love, if any fellowship of the Spirit, if any bowels and mercies, Fulfill ye my joy, that ye be like-minded, having the same Love, being of one accord, of one mind. Let nothing be done through strife or vainglory; but in lowliness of mind let each esteem other better than themselves. Look not every man on his own things, but every man also on the things of others.Let this mind be in you, which was also in Christ Jesus:

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus who always Cares – Anne

    P.S Ron often gives me a bag of Chocolate and Coconut Marshmallow Snowballs, they are his favorites Lol

    Like

    • When I was young.. Valentine’s Day was all about romance and love of couples but when we live and grow in mind and faith… God opens up so many thoughts that we just didn’t think of before. I am amazed each and every year of new thoughts that the Holy Spirit …enlightens…me with… …Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

