Update re Surgery

 

Hi…. I thought I’d give anyone interested an update.

I had the surgery on the 27th of January. It was to be a myotomy-heller operation.  However, this was changed when the doctor began. A little history before I explain.

I was told that it was for my symptoms relating to achalasia and associated discomfort when eating. Prior to the surgery I alerted an associate of the Surgeon who did an endoscopy on me, and the secretary of the surgeon that I had previously in 2011 and April of 2014 been told that I had a large hernia. Both told me there was no evidence that I had one, but if there was the surgeon would fix it at the same time.

When in recovery I began to have symptoms mimicking a heart attack, but after they did a quick ECG and Xray, I was assured it was not a heart attack, but there was a pocket of gas in my chest. This was caused I was told by the doctor in recovery, because during the surgery that I had, they had to infuse carbon dioxide. The surgery being, a paresophageal hernia repair. This was confusing to me, but the surgeon paid a quick visit and said the last test I had done was badly mis-read. I was out of the hospital in two days and am home now with a limited diet for the next 4 weeks.

On a positive note, I am not in a lot of pain and I actually slept lying down the past two nights. I do wake up a few times but I think my ‘biological clock’ re length of time I have been averaging over this past year has interfered with how long a stretch I can sleep. I think that will correct itself in time.

So, thank you my friends for thoughts, wishes and prayers offered on my behalf. I have much to be thankful for.

😉 😉 😉

24 thoughts on “Update re Surgery

  1. Oh Diane! You certainly have been through the ringer! I’m so sorry that you had to go through all that. What a scary experience. I’m so glad you are on mend and have all that behind you!

    Like

  2. May you have an easy and quick recovery! And carrying on sleeping laying down in comfort and not on the recliner!!
    Thinking of you xx

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

