Letter to My Children

Jim Jeff and Paul Tromba-004Jim Jeff and Paul Tromba-005P1160256_edited-003 

From the day each of you was born I had only one thing in mind for each of you. That was to love you with all of my heart, mind and soul.

With this same love I knew that you needed boundaries, and therefore discipline and though I wanted to give you everything your heart desired, I knew that would not make you happy in life. You needed to appreciate the blessings came from having respect for yourself and others. You needed to know that to enjoy life, there had to be an appreciation for working hard and to gain self-worth.

To watch as you went through each stage of life, from the scraped knees, to the tentative teenage years wondering what lay ahead for you in your life; to the days when as a young husband or wife and then parenthood you encountered ‘life’ and its’ ups and downs, brought so many joys along with concern for you.

I loved each of you for the very special qualities you had, and I loved you when you would falter in some of those qualities. There is no one who goes through life being perfect, never making mistakes. When you did make them, you learned from them and went on.

The love you have showed me over your lifetime is immeasurable. The joy you have given is immense.

You need to know that there was never one moment that I did not love you. Never a thought that I could have lived my life without you in it. I simply could not imagine that.

As a mother I too made many mistakes, but I believe whatever they were you forgave me. Sometimes I found it hard to forgive myself. Many times I second-guessed decisions I made, or words I spoke, or actions I took.

This would not be complete if I didn’t note that at times when I was suffering with depression, it may have troubled you or you may have wondered why I was the way I was. Many times I questioned that same thing. The only answer that I have is that mental illness just ‘happens’ sometimes, but God has used it in my life to give me a compassion and understanding for others who struggle with this debilitating disease. God in His wisdom allowed me to experience this for His purposes, but also healed me from it as well.

Thank you for loving me anyway!

I am blessed to be allowed to be your Mother.

xoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxooxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxoxoxooxoxoxoxooxoxooxoxox

 

26 thoughts on “Letter to My Children

  1. You have been a good Mum Diane in your kindness towards your Children and yes God does work everything out for good in our lives and He plans good for us too when we Love Him and because we Love Him we obey Him willingly, as we choose to walk in The Spirit.

    But He does not afflict us Diane or willingly allow us to suffer, just as you wouldn’t with your own Children or does He plan it for us, He tolerates it giving time for repentance, it’s not His will anyone goes to Hell, Satan’s creation.

    Lamentations 3: 33 For God doth not afflict willingly nor grieve the children of men.

    Jeremiah 29 :11-12 For I know the thoughts that I think toward you, says the LORD, thoughts of peace and not of evil, to give you a future and a hope.

    But Life has trouble Diane because of the fall, accidents and chance happen, we get sick, we reap the evil we sow, others hurt us and Satan puts us to the test but in all these things as God’s Redeemed Children who have accepted the free gift of Salvation in Christ Jesus after coming to heart repentance, He strengthens us so we can endure and we never go through the Storms that life brings alone… How good is That!.

    Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

    Christian Love Always – Anne.

    Like

    • Yes Anne, I always knew that God did not inflict me .. Though I many times asked him to ‘zap’ me and take away the depression, I did not lose my faith.. in that I knew that He was allowing it for His reasons… He was always with me…. I used to have talks with my children and I let them know that they were not at all the reason that ‘Mommy’ was not feeling well sometimes…. I have been free for several years now, but I know that one of the reasons He allowed me to go through those years, was in part to help others with depression, to not feel so alone… and that there was hope… Thanks for your lovely comment.. Diane

      Like

      • As I shared with you before Diane, God does not do or allow evil, which all sickness, suffering and pain is, just so He can bring good out of it, but yes He works it all for good for those who Love Him.

        The Scriptures below confirm that to even say that Christians do evil for good is slander, God does not do evil which includes allowing it, He is not an accessory to any evil. It seems you did not understand that Life happens including depression which is a symptom, when it is not physically caused through imbalance, of our wrong thought processes.

        For God to stop all evil now He would have to stop the world which will happen soon but He is patient, it is not His will anyone goes to Hell, He is giving time for repentance, He knows those who are His and not one will of us will be lost. Perhaps the link below will make it clearer for you. Thanks for fixing my error I appreciate it.

        Romans 3:8 And not rather, as we be slanderously reported, and as some affirm that we say, Let us do evil, that good may come?………………..

        James 1:17 Every good gift and every perfect gift is from above, and cometh down from the Father of lights, with whom is no variableness, neither shadow of turning.

        God’s goodness – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2014/10/10/summer-camp-blues/

        Blessings – Anne

        Like

        • I do understand that God in no way was responsible for my depression.. When diagnosed it was according to doctors.. an imbalance or ‘clinical depression’. However, within me I knew there were also issues growing up that caused me sadness and more prone to depression. (life) I was prepared to live and take medication for what the doctors considered a chemical imbalance, but thanks to finally finding a very caring spirit filled Christian doctor…. was able to stop the medication. I understand what you’re saying .. that God had no part in my illness, but I also have believed that God being God if He chose to instantly heal me, He could have done so…. but for His reasons He didn’t… Jesus healed every manner of illness while on His earthly ministry and so at the time I was in the midst of depression, I believed if it was God’s will to do so, He could/would do it. but He did not… but eventually led me to the doctor who not only worked with me but also prayed for me leading me out of what I called ‘the darkness’ into the light…. In doing so, I have been able to help and support others to have hope … Diane

          Like

          • Thank you Diane for sharing so honestly and you are indeed an encourager as I have often noticed on Blogs including mine.

            I have walked in your shoes Diane and so do understand, for 18 years I suffered because of a wrong diagnose, the medication they had me on was causing all types of problems including fear and depression but like you when I no longer took the medication I got better and have been well for over 10 years, I couldn’t get the medication I was on or maybe I would still be having problems, although I believe God knows how much we can endure and strengthens us and so He stepped in to stop my suffering, I was in danger… In those years I had no understanding of God’s ways of healing like I do now, yes He has different ways and tools.

            He does not just always heal Miraculously without tools and nor did Jesus , He used Mud and water and Paul advised wine too, but also sin can stop His healing us which did happen with Paul and his thorn and with me until I came to heart repentance and also not believing in our heart that He will heal can stop answered prayer too.

            But God has now also healed me Miraculously and much more than once but I still have disabled feet and because of extreme dieting when I was young, I now have Osteoarthritis in my neck and shoulders but He provided in a Supernatural way through a Christan man a Balm and when I use it the pain goes away, it does come back but it was what He used to heal me completely twice of chronic conditions too, the other times were Miraculously through prayer and His mercy and grace before I became a Christian. He also saved my life 3 times than too well that I know of but I wonder how many times I don’t know of.

            As I shared Diane what we need to do so we Trust God completely in our hearts, is to believe without doubt that He does not willingly do or allow evil, He tolerates it but He is always close to us giving what is needed and when it is needed, like with your wonderful Christian Doctor, I had one too he comforted me greatly.

            Isaiah 43:1-3 – Do not be afraid, for I have ransomed you. I have called you by name; you are mine. When you go through deep waters and great trouble, I will be with you. When you go through rivers of difficulty, you will not drown! When you walk through the fire of oppression, you will not be burned up; the flames will not consume you. For I am the LORD, your God, the Holy One of Israel, your Saviour.”

            Blessings – Anne.

            Liked by 1 person

  2. Such a beautiful love letter to your beautiful children. They should be very proud of you for clawing your way out of depression. It is horrible to live with and i know it is equally hard on our loved ones to see and live with, and nothing they can do helps. It is a personal hell. Deb

    Like

  3. Pingback: Letter to My Children | Christians Anonymous

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

