Sometimes I Just Need To Ask

There is no rhyme, form, or flow to this poem/prayer, only thoughts at the end of this day……

Sometimes I just need to ask Lord Sunset two on Crosby Lake-001

Who is it You want me to be

What is it You want me to do

Why am I asking You this

Is my faith lacking just now

I know that you teach us to ask

Whatever is laid on our heart

Why do I fear that the thing I most want

Is something I may never see

When I pray dear Lord

I know You are there

But sometimes the thought crosses my mind

That I’m not who You want me to be

That I don’t do what You want me to do

The things of this world

Distract me at times

And I just need You to know

That I want to be and I want to do

Whatever You’d like of me

I have just one more thing to ask

Please tell me what that would be

 

 

 

 

 

 

 

23 thoughts on “Sometimes I Just Need To Ask

  1. Diane, I just love your honesty both with God and us and yes I have asked that question many times before too and have also wondered why would God pick me to do His work, after all I’m a cracked vessel, yes He is the Super Glue but I have quiet a few cracks and than I realized why, I will leave the link for you, I’m sure you will agree that I fit the bill very well, maybe you do too.

    My Qualifications – https://freedomborn.wordpress.com/2013/04/16/i-have-all-the-needed-qualifications/

    Christian Love in Christ Jesus – Anne

    Like

    • I am qualified to represent the Lord as His child. I find sometimes as my post says, to know exactly what I should be doing ‘for Him’. What I do, is to love Him with my whole heart and do my best (with flaws) to love others…. hoping by doing so I am doing what He wills…..Diane

      Like

  2. I’m not sure where I stand on “faith” right now but I can say that I have been asking myself a lot of questions lately and your poem reflected a lot of what I’m feeling (even if I’m not sure *why* I’m feeling it). It was beautifully written. thank you for sharing,

    Like

  3. Beautiful prayer. I often find myself asking God the same thing. At times, the answer is clear; other times, not so clear. At times, I guess we are meant to grope or to suffer our way through life and learn as we go. Even Jesus asked, “My God, why have you forsaken me?”

    Like

  4. Pingback: Sometimes I Just Need To Ask | Christians Anonymous

      • I can relate to that totally as I am sure you see on my blog like, every day!!

        Pondering can be good… I hope it brings you to a place of assurance in your life abd what you are doing and/or maybe little things you’d like to change. Xx

        Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

