Daily Post – Salad Days

Prompt: Is there a period in your own personal life that you think of as the good old days? Tell us a story about those innocent and/or exciting times (or lack thereof).

The ‘good old days’; words I didn’t expect to be saying as fast as what it seems to have happened.

I am happy for the life I have right now, being retired and out of the busyness that younger people are engaged in. I’ve been through 6 decades, and each one brings it’s own joys, sadness and challenges. When I saw this topic though it brought back some memories that are etched in my very being. There was the insecurity of a young child, as my mother had to raise my siblings and I, basically by herself. My father was in the picture for all but me and two of my brothers and sisters. However, being in the ‘picture’ was about all he was, because he really had no part in raising or ‘loving’ any of his children. We were recognized by him, but never loved or held by him. He didn’t know how!

Then there were the teenage years and growing gradually into adulthood,  with a set of wonderment about what my life would be like, and then meeting my husband when I was only 15 years old.

Family picture taken over 40 years ago

Family picture taken over 40 years ago

The ‘good old days’ I believe are those years when we were busy making so many memories of our life together, and raising our family. I hear of our grandchildren involved in hockey, and my mind goes back to all that time spent in cold arenas, sipping hot chocolate and cheering on our sons as they tried so hard to win ‘that’ game. I think of our daughter and sharing with her, secrets every young woman should know. I don’t want to go back to those days, but when I see a wedding on television, just starting their lives together, or young men and women living and working through the complexities of life; tears sometimes fall just wanting to feel some of what I did back then.

Then I come back to reality, and I am thankful for the life we have had together for 51 years. We get to eat when we want, what we want; we get to do the housework or laundry whenever the mood moves us to do so. If someone happens by before we do so, we get away with saying something like “well we needed to rest, sorry for the mess”….  and not be considered lazy. We get to eat dessert first before the meal if we want, and no one is there to tell us we shouldn’t do that.

IMG_6416(2)-002And we can stay up ‘as early as we want’….  Life is good!

20 thoughts on “Daily Post – Salad Days

    • I guess except for perhaps some different customs, the stages in life are indeed much the same.(Boy, this post was a long time ago and when I saw the title, I had forgotten what it was)…. Thanks Barbara… Diane

      Like

    • For sure they are part of me now… I guess I’m referring to being in the ‘moment of those times…just for a bit’. and experiencing some of those specific feelings.. like the first time I held our first born…. Ahh Lou Ann, I think I’m just a wee bit melancholy… Diane

      Liked by 1 person

  1. Pingback: Life Is Beautiful | Rahul Creatrix's Blog

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

