Daily Prompt – One-Way Street

Prompt:  Congrats! You’re the owner of a new time machine. The catch? It comes in two models, each traveling one way only: the past OR the future. Which do you choose, and why?

Thinking that it would be actually possible to do this; travel back in time or into the future made me think. Would I want to go back to a certain period in my life, and actually re-do it, possibly better than I did the first time around?

Maybe I could raise my children better,  maybe I would choose a different job; or maybe even choose not to get married and have a less complicated life.  Maybe heartaches that I’ve had at different times would just not happen. There are so many areas that I could change, knowing what my choices have brought to me.

On the other hand, if I chose to go into the future it would be exciting and maybe by doing so I could by-pass a lot of current problems. I would see how my grandchildren grew up, and whether they got married and had children of their own. I would see how the world has developed and what the results were of wars that are going on currently.

I’ve decided that I would not use this time machine at all. My life is what it is. It’s what brought me to where I am today and shaped me physically, emotionally and spiritually.  With all that has taken place, I would not change a thing. I may have had times of difficulty, or times those I love have disappointed me, and most certainly times I have disappointed others but it’s all part of me…. it’s made me who I am…. who God I believe wants me to be.

As far as going into the future, I would not want to do that either. What will be will be, and I don’t want to know what lays ahead. I will take one day at a time and face the future that way and put it in the Lord’s hands.

Jeremiah 29:11 For I know the plans I have for you, declares the Lord, plans for welfare and not for evil, to give you a future and a hope.

5 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – One-Way Street

  1. If I were to go back in time, I think I would want to go back to before I was born and observe what the father and his sister went through, so I could have a better understanding of the events since.

    Like

  2. Interesting….I like where you landed. There are a couple points in history that would be cool to see but I would be lost with the social and technological changes. Probably the same for the future. And what of friends and family in the now? 8)

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

