Daily Prompt – Handle With Care – “Please”

Prompt:  How are you at receiving criticism? Do you prefer that others treat you with kid gloves, or go for brutal honesty?

As my title of this post indicates, I have to say I prefer that when someone has an issue with me, that they say so tactfully and with sensitivity.  I could honestly say that it is almost a necessity!

Growing up I was always very shy. My mother never had to spank me (I don’t think,) because all she would have to do is show or tell me that something I did was wrong, and that was punishment enough. This shyness and sensitive nature seemed to increase even as I got older. I’m afraid I had an inferiority complex, which was I believe a result of moving a lot, my mother being on her own and struggling financially causing some issues, and I guess just my own nature.

From what I perceived, most of my friends were in stable family relationships and home life. I knew that our situation was different and somehow I felt like somewhat of an outcast at school. I was very cautious about revealing personal details, because I was afraid that I would be made fun of. There was never any blame attached to my mother, because I knew even at a young age that she was doing the best that she could for us.

As a result of this however, when negative or critical words were spoken, I didn’t handle it well, usually ending up crying or near tears and trying to hide them somehow, and then I would brood.

Over the years I would like to say things changed, but I have to admit I still didn’t receive criticism well especially if it was of a harsh nature. Of course it isn’t really an issue for the most part now, as there aren’t that many conflicts in my life.

So, the moral of the story is…. if you need to straighten me out…. do it with kindness ‘please’ !

10 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Handle With Care – “Please”

  1. Great post. Words can be extremely painful. Learning to be comfortable in who we are, how we chose to conduct our every day life, will ease the pain of many situations as we turn it all over to Him. We can’t control the actions of others but we can control if we allow those actions to impact our life! A daily process at hand. Keep up the great work, Diane, as you positively impact lives! 🙂

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

