I Can’t Believe this is Number 500

When I started blogging in November 2011, I didn’t know what to expect. Well, perhaps I would meet one or two people that were somewhat like-minded and I could write back and forth. I also thought that perhaps if I wrote about some of my struggles with depression, maybe it would help someone else.  Never did I imagine what lay ahead. But that’s not what I want to write about today. In fact as I write this first paragraph I’m still unsure of what to write about in this my 500th post. I’ll take a few minutes to think about it…. Okay I’ve thought about it.

As my husband ‘W’ and I watch the news each day, and tonight a documentary that involved a terror attack a few years ago, we thought about the current state of the world in several countries, and one in particular. But I’m not going to go into all of that either.

Instead, I’d just like to say that while there are wars outside of the country, and violence in our own country, wherever that is, there is also much goodness, kindness and joy. We can’t bury our head and pretend bad things aren’t happening, but we can choose not to let all of it color our perception of life itself and the people around us. There is joy in watching our children, grandchildren and even great-grandchildren learn and grow. I don’t ever want to be complacent in watching them play and laugh and love. Children learn how to love by what they see in the adults around them. We need to teach them how to treat others…… how to be kind and unselfish.

Rylee doing Gymnastics

Rylee doing Gymnastics

Our 5 year old great-granddaughter visited us this summer for a few days, and while she was here it was a joy to watch her as she drew pictures and colored them and told the story of what they meant. Since I have been painting lately, I thought I would let her do her own, but since it was early I wasn’t quite ready. Every few minutes she would ask if it was time yet, and after a few times I said okay!

I set up a little easel and small canvas for her with the paint I use, and not children’s paint. I did this to make her feel special hopefully, and to just let her have fun. One day she painted a picture of the sky, and sun and two butterflies. The next day I was showing her a picture of a bird that I was thinking of painting, and she wanted to do the same one. It had multiple colors and she asked me to draw the bird and then she would paint it.  I showed her how to mix some colors and she painstakingly tried to keep all of them the same as in the picture.

Rylee with her face painted

Rylee with her face painted

She was about three quarters of the way done, and she put the brushes down and her arms at her side and then said “I’m really tired”. So I suggested that she put her name on the painting and said it was beautiful and asked her what she was going to do with it. She said “I’m going to give it to Daddy”….note: she doesn’t live with her Daddy but sees him every other weekend and some miscellaneous days but was going to see him shortly. She knows she is loved by her Mommy and her Daddy.

Rylee and Mommy

Rylee and Mommy

What a smile she brought to me as she sat beside me and concentrated so hard and then as she simply said “I’m really tired”. The honesty and simplicity of a child!

So yes, there are many wars, disasters and there is a lot of sadness and illnesses around. Many reading this have situations in their lives that are tough things to be dealing with. I don’t want to minimize this fact or say that they don’t affect us and understandably so.

I guess I’m just saying that we need to remember to ‘let the sunshine in’ whenever we can, and try not to be overwhelmed at the shadows or darkness of this life. (note to self also) I am thankful for the sunshine in my life; Rylee….other family, friends, and of course… God.

This was a bit long, hope you don’t mind but thanks for reading, and thanks for so much support over this past year especially.

 

 

22 thoughts on “I Can’t Believe this is Number 500

  1. Congratulations on 500 posts! Loved this one! There is so much going on in this world we live in it is hard to not think about it. I have been taking care of my 5 year old granddaughter and she never fails to amaze me!

    Like

  2. Here by way of Kitt O’Malley.

    I love your message. I think it’s very good to focus on things at home when mass media really doesn’t a lot of the time, and is trying to sell us something.

    Congratulations on 500 posts. Blogging really can be an interesting journey for sure… I have over 2100 posts now– not all of them originating at WordPress, and spanning over 10 years. It’s been helpful to me to look back and see where this blogging journey has taken me.

    Liked by 1 person

    • 2100… wow! Like you, I like to go and re-read some of my earlier ones occasionally too… I started not really knowing anything about blogging and have learned so much not only about it, but about people and many facets of life I didn’t know before… Thanks for stopping by and for commenting… Diane

      Like

  3. Congratulations on writing 500 posts! Congratulations on sharing your journey from depression to living joyously, appreciating God’s gifts such as your beautiful, wise granddaughter.

    You are wise in advising that we appreciate God’s gifts of love, beauty, joy. We must remember to do so even as we fight injustice and evil.

    God bless you and your family. You are truly blessed to have such a loving family, and they are blessed to have you.

    Like

  4. Congratulations on reaching this milestone, Diane. You’re about to achieve another major milestone. By tonight your story “Dream Job” will debut in the non-fiction anthology “Slices of Life” and be available on Amazon.com. Congratulations x 2!

    Liked by 1 person

    • That is great news…. Without you gathering all the stories from everyone and putting it all together, it just would not have happened, and even if no one ever bought a copy (did I say that?) just to know that something I wrote actually was published …of course along with all the other writers… is really wonderful… Thanks Russ September 27th is a great day Diane

      Like

  5. Congratulations!! That is a real milestone. I wonder how many blog posts I would be at if I hadn’t had to delete my old blog. I think I started my original blog in 2010 even.

    But you have stayed here strong and keep on going! Well done and I wish you much happiness and blessings for you and your family… Your granddaughter is a right cutie pie!!

    xx

    Liked by 1 person

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

