Wishing Will Not Make It So

I think most people have had occasions when they want something so bad, they try to do whatever they can to make it so!

It can be something as simple as wanting a ‘material possession’ or as complicated as wanting another person to ‘do’ what you would like them to do.  I think the first one is easier to deal with then the latter. Wanting a new car, house, electronic device of some sort, new furniture etc. is really dependent on having the money to buy it. Either you have it or you don’t.  You may be unhappy when you determine that you can’t afford  it at the moment but eventually you need to deal with that fact.

But in the case of a person or another relationship it is not so easy sometimes to accept the way things are between you. I will change to the ‘first person’ and admit that right now I am dealing with such a situation. There have been so many complexities that have happened, and while trying to sort things out they have just become more complicated. When a misunderstanding occurs I believe it’s best when you are direct and talk things out but it is so hard when the other person does not want to.

When there is third parties that are involved it becomes even more stressful because it is a deterrent and distraction to the main issue. It is perhaps better to back away totally and let things settle.  In the beginning I didn’t do this because I am a believer in being direct and forthcoming and hoping hope that it can be straightened out that way.  Alas it has not happened….

As a Christian of course I have prayed about this and while I was hoping things would rectify, to this point in time they haven’t. Do I then believe that He doesn’t care? Of course not. I believe in His timing that the situation will resolve. I think that perhaps I hindered the whole process because I should have backed off in the beginning. I am having real difficulty ‘waiting’ though because my mind imagines all kinds of scenarios.

This is a case where my ‘personality’ …if you will… contradicts what perhaps my faith says to do…..

BE STILL AND KNOW THAT I AM GOD….

“BY PRAYER AND SUPPLICATION MAKE YOUR REQUEST KNOWN AND MY FATHER IN HEAVEN WILL HEAR AND ANSWER” and also…

25 “Therefore I tell you, do not worry about your life……… 27 Can any one of you by worrying add a single hour to your life[a]?34 Therefore do not worry about tomorrow, for tomorrow will worry about itself. Each day has enough trouble of its own.

I don’t know if anyone else can relate to this, but it is something that I need to ‘work on’… In the meantime I shall ‘wait’……

26 thoughts on “Wishing Will Not Make It So

  1. Waiting upon the Lord to gracious grant us our desires is VERY difficult for most of us, I believe. As a younger person, it was horrible to think of having to wait for my desires to be fulfilled. But after living over 50 years, I have learned that the fulfillment of my desires is ALWAYS sweeter when they are received in God’s time and in His way. Thanks for a great, encouraging posting Diane., Lord bless you.

    Like

  2. That situation is kind of normal. Remember, in ST. Paul’s Epistle, he says that he does what he ought not to do and doesn’t do what h ought to do (or something to that effect). This contradiction is part of our nature and thus it is a constant struggle to let the good in us triumph. 🙂

    Like

    • You’re right and I even remember quoting that scripture …. so it is not uncommon …. but alas we sometimes go ’round in circles… Thanks for the reminder that it is ‘normal’… Diane

      Like

  3. I think I can relate. And you’re absolutely right, you can’t hope or wish away distress, though I know you can pray for guidance or strength. It is US who need to change. Change our perspective, understand that we have to accept people as they are and then decide if we can. In my case I am trying to change how I react to things my family says and how they say it. You can’t wish for change, but it is difficult to do. (I hope that makes sense.)

    Like

  4. I so know what you mean … I often wish for the unchangeable but since it doesn’t make me very happy I then try and refocus on something real … limited success

    Like

  5. Diane, you are like a mother to me. We disagree in love and understanding.Sometimes we forget our own rules and want something so bad. But that is life. Your patients is something for everyone to emulate.

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

