Daily Prompt – Moment of Kindness

Prompt: Describe a moment of kindness, between you and someone else — loved one or complete stranger.

Photographers, artists, poets: show us KINDNESS.

This prompt is so apropos for me during a most difficult time in my life recently. I won’t repeat details that I shared in a post written previously, but I will share some of the ways ‘kindness’ was shown to me.

I was hospitalized for a period of 8 days. During the first 2-3 days I don’t remember much as I was unconscious or semi-conscious and on some life support, but the days following I was showered with kindness. The nurses and care-workers helped me through a period of physical and emotional need. On most other occasions when I have  been in the hospital, I have still been able to care for myself but this time I was dependent for several days on others.

My heart had gone into cardiac arrest, I had pneumonia caused by aspiration, my lungs had collapsed and I had several fractured ribs.  For all of these reasons I was totally at the mercy of nurses and care workers. During this time it caused some feelings of embarrassment. I am a senior and grew up with a shyness and even found it difficult when I was in school to change clothes in front of other girls in the locker room.  When I had my first child I found it to  be a time when I had to let go somewhat of these feelings. however, I never did completely.

So here I was having to be bathed, changed and other personal needs done by complete strangers.

Here’s where the ‘kindness’ comes in, because I can say with no hesitation that I was never treated in a manner that caused me to truly feel embarrassed. Everything was done in a ‘matter of fact’ way and I never felt that any one of those caring for me minded doing whatever I needed. Often times when I was so uncomfortable because any movement caused pain in the rib area, the nurse(s) would often seem to see and know even without me saying anything, that I needed to be moved to relieve the discomfort. They seemed to know how to prop the pillows around me and ever so gently they would then maneuver me into a comfortable position. Some of these nurses/care workers were male which could normally heighten my emotional discomfort, but often they were the gentlest and most kind.

So this period of my life that could have been even more traumatic for me, was in fact a time of realizing that ‘kindness’ can make so much difference. You may even notice that without this prompt this is a quality I admire very much, hence the header on my blog site.

32 thoughts on “Daily Prompt – Moment of Kindness

  1. I noticed that this post was from 2 years ago- I hope you are keeping much better health. I have lots of posts to catch up on because I am a new reader of your blog. It won’t take long though- as Anne of Green Gables would say, “You are a kindred spirit”! I grew up with much the same shyness. I wondered how I would cope having a male obstetrician and also when I needed help showering etc after a myomectomy. You’re right-it’s all about the attitude and professional manner of the staff. The more matter of fact and skilled the staff appear, the better it is, I think. I’m glad you had such a positive experience in the hospital when you needed it the most.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Blessed be all the caregivers. I experienced such kindness when I was confined in the hospital delivering my children. The first time was utterly embarrassing but the nurses and other caregivers were all so supportive and nice. They gave leeway to this person who did not know what to expect of everybody during my first confinement and delivery. 🙂

    Like

  3. This is the great thing about the body of Christ. Kindness is a fruit of the spirit. All those people working in that hospital had that gift in full measure. It is so good to hear. Glad you are better!

    Like

    • Thank you… The situation that happened ‘shocked’ me into the reality that we need to take and enjoy each day at a time holding on to our blessings and praying for the other things… Diane

      Like

      • I see where you’re coming from, but I’m sure you’re more than qualified. I often feel a real fraud when I know I’m not really following my own advice – however, that doesn’t stop it being good advice.
        Had a similar conversation with my pastor some time ago – he commented that he often preached stuff he needed to hear.
        bless you, Diane

        Like

  4. It’s good to hear that you were treated well. I work in the heathcare system and always try to remember that a little kindness goes a long way when dealing with the sick (especially having been on the other end of it myself).

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

