DP Challenge – Hi, Mom

Prompt: Today is Mother’s Day in the United States. Wherever in the world you are, write your mother a letter.

Mother’s Day is very emotional for me for different reasons and I know that for many it is also.  As I shared recently on another venue,  a ‘Mother’ does not have to equate to a woman having a biological child only. To me it can be anyone female or male who cares for, nurtures, protects and loves as a mother does, a child of ‘any’ age. There are many single fathers that  have to be  ‘mothers’ to their children as my mother had to sometimes fill the role of a ‘father’ also.

I will take this opportunity to write a letter to my Mom who passed away many years ago.

Mom and I on my wedding day

Me and Mom on my wedding day

Mom, you were the most important single influence in my life. You exemplified and were the epitome of what a mother should be to their children.  Compassion, patience, understanding, caring, kindness, are only a few words that come to mind when I think of you. You had to be so strong because my father was not there for you.  I can only imagine having to care for and raise ten children and often thought about that as I raised ‘three’. The advantage for me was that I had my husband’s support and that made it so much easier than you had it.

Being the last of your children I did not have to endure many hardships that many of the others did, with the years of the depression and World War Two. My older siblings were my reference for those years and yet somehow you managed to raise us all with the love that never ran out. It was a constant in our lives.

There were of course times of discipline also, and that taught us respect for you and for many others in our lives that we would cross paths with. You taught us work ethics and tolerance by your example and those lessons lasted a lifetime.

The years of growing up I know were not easy for you, or speaking for myself only at this point, for me either. There were so many challenges especially financially and for me emotionally as well.  However, you were always there to ‘love’ me through those times and I always knew that you were doing the very best that was possible and I could talk to you about anything and you were there listening and I always felt better afterward.

You taught me that God loved me and that knowledge brought me through many a trial in my life, because I knew He was there beside me.

There is so much I could say to you and one day I will.

For today, I will just finish this letter by saying that I miss our talks over a cup of tea or sitting late at night just talking about anything and everything and all seemed better after our time together.

So for now I will simply say Happy Mother’s Day Mom…. the best Mom that there ever was or could be!

Love, Your daughter Diane xoxoxoxo

4 thoughts on “DP Challenge – Hi, Mom

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

