DP Weekly Writing Challenge – Truth is Stranger Than Fiction

Prompt:

For this challenge, we want to see a photo of someone looking truly happy. Not “I’m-smiling-for-this-photo” happy, but really, deeply, twinkle-in-the-eyes happy. When we’re smiling a genuine smile, our whole faces get involved — our whole bodies, for that matter. There’s a light in our eyes. We look relaxed; there’s a forced tension in a fake smile.

Then we want to know why: what’s going on in the photo? What are you (or they) thinking about at the exact moment? (And if you really want to get into it: what happens next?)

Ideally, this is a photo of you or a loved one, but we’ll make an exception for the non-shutterbugs.

Oh My!

Oh My!

Well for this photo I had to include the explanation of the prompt to explain the picture that I am using. This picture was taken on my birthday in 2009. The celebration was for my birthday and that of my brother because we were one day apart. It was my 64th birthday and his 75th. My daughter and her family decided to take us out to dinner at a restaurant that had a unique way of embarrassing those celebrating their birthday. I was adorned with a set of ‘horns’ to wear, as the not so traditional rendition of Happy Birthday was sung by all.

As I said it was my brother’s birthday the day before mine as well but because he was a bit hesitant to wear the head gear that was brought to the table, I decided to lower my inhibitions and put it on. There was another part of this celebration which I did forgo however as one is supposed to stand on their chair for all in the restaurant to see and have a good laugh I guess. I’m afraid that part was not to be!

My family had a good laugh because in years past this would never have happened. The depression that had prevailed in my life for so many years had at last lifted and I was able to truly laugh and mean it, however embarrassed I felt. My daughter took this picture and it remains one that brings back memories. The ones of that day were wonderful and we had a really fun time.

My brother after the photo shop was done

My brother after the photo shop was done

Because my brother didn’t feel up to putting on the ‘horns’ my daughter decided to photo shop them on to his head and sent me a picture of him. He did get quite a laugh.

My brother and I 2009Miss you!

My brother and I 2009
Miss you!

There is some sadness to this story however, as my brother passed away later that year unfortunately quite unexpected from cancer. He did not know that he had it until the day before he died. He was as I said 75. But the memory of the birthday that we celebrated together his last year remains a very special one for me, and it has been nice to remember this time with him in doing this post.

20 thoughts on “DP Weekly Writing Challenge – Truth is Stranger Than Fiction

    • It was good to have that time with him….he was an alcoholic for many years but free for the ten years before he died and we had so many good visits and times with him during that period….He for sure is with Jesus right now….thanks for your thoughts..Diane

      Like

  1. I love those pictures, Diane. Sorry to hear about your loss of your brother. He seems so gentle. Your smile is so genuine, and bright- no trace of the darkness of depression. You are a conqueror!

    Like

  2. I LOVE that you blog! How may people in your generation blog? Probably not too many. I’m proud of you. You are figuring it out! Way to go Diane! BTW, I’m still praying for you. *wink

    Like

    • That’s so nice of you to say because for me it did take some ‘courage’ and stamina to try to learn some of the ‘ins’ and outs’ of it. But I did really feel the Lord led me to do it…. and thanks for the prayers…it means a lot….Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

