Perseverence Pays Off But at What Price

Okay, well I did a post recently on Patience and now a short one on Perseverance.

I won’t go into a lot of details of the logistics of what happened but I will try to summarize.  While I was working on a blog site; not mine,  but one I help to do work on, I inadvertently ’caused’  (or thought I had) a problem whereby on the home site, and clicking on the post, an error code appeared. I thought to myself…what have I done and how am I going to fix this? I checked everything over and over; I went to WordPress.com support and then WordPress.org support. I redid this over and over until I got myself so upset and even angry that I could do such a  thing, I even used the word ‘stupid’ to describe how I felt.

I spent hours trying to read all that I could about this error code that came up but to now avail …at least not for a long time. I really beat myself up that I had caused this to happen….I had caused on someone else’s blog. I just felt so bad and last night went to bed with this on my mind.

I did pray that God would show me what the answer was and so this morning tackled the problem right away. Finally one word popped out to me in something I was reading…..in one of the settings. I went and thought well if this isn’t the problem I will just change it back to what it was, and keep searching.

Perseverance paid off because the elusive answer was indeed found.

One other reason I did this post is to say how readily I was to lay blame on myself and work myself up instead of thinking that this could be a ‘technical’ issue that just happened and not my fault. Self-doubt in a big way came into being. This was something that when I had depression was common-place in my mind.

I felt the ‘perfectionism’ that I thought had left me had crept back into my thinking. And again I reminded myself that we set ourselves up for a fall, if we expect we will not make a mistake and just deal with it. As it turned out I was not at fault ..this time, but in future I will make mistakes and wrong choices and I hope this issues has reminded me of this fact and to deal with it better.

So I will try to accept this, and next time be a little kinder to myself. And while I  am so happy the issue is resolved I paid the price, brought on only by myself.

18 thoughts on “Perseverence Pays Off But at What Price

  1. I can understand your feeling. I always tend to blame myself for all the things that go wrong. I guess, we both are trying to avoid the other route – blaming everything but ourselves. 🙂

    Like

  2. Well said Diane:-)No use beating ourselves up & playing the blame game-even -rather more so with our own self-it leads us nowhere.Better to accept that it has happened & try to work it out & if no solution is forthcoming,just let it go-mistakes are natural -they are sent for us to learn life lessons from-and you,Diane, are doing an excellent job:-)

    Like

  3. A truer word was never spoken..we can all get into a tizz-wozz about the smallest things and yet the anwser is plain to see…prayer! God knows all the answers, even those dealing with modern technology and WordPress

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

