My Feathered Friends

This is just a fun post with some pictures of some of the birds that come and go to our feeders outside our windows.  I am not a knowledgeable person when it comes to knowing a lot of birds but I just find so much enjoyment from watching them. I always have loved our feathered friends.

My camera is not of a good quality and the pictures are taken ‘through’ a window on a tripod I set up so the camera was ready when I saw some. Although I have a few feeders I also put some nuts and seeds on a table on the deck so I could draw some close enough to take some pictures.  I finally got the elusive and quick blue jay. And got some nice ones of the cardinal, junco, chickadees,  and another one …probably a sparrow, but my blogging friend at the Birding Bunch will maybe confirm this. ( The picture is not close enough so I don’t thing they will be able to identify if for me after all.) I also get woodpeckers at the suet on tree.  So realize these are basically to include them in my blog because they are part of my enjoyment of life and who I am. And I am printing off all of my blogs to keep them as something to look back on in the future and maybe my kids will look back on them too and find something out about their mother that they didn’t realize.  I’ve just realized after putting the first picture in that they can’t be seen too clearly as they can’t be zoomed in to get the close up so I’ll put them on anyway but they won’t be as fun to look at.. ADDITIONAL NOTE…. I still have much to learn. While you can’t see them enlarged while doing post….I went to the finished blog and I found (as most of you probably know) that you CAN double click on the photo and it will ENLARGE….sigh…still learning…..Diane

Elusive Blue Jay

Elusive Blue Jay

Beautiful Cardinal

Beautiful Cardinal

Cardinal different view

Cardinal different view

Chickadees

Chickadees

Woodpecker at Suet

Woodpecker at Suet

Cardinal (again) Snowing

Cardinal (again) Snowing

Junco (I hope)

Junco (I hope)

 

White-Breasted Nut Hatch

White-Breasted Nut Hatch


Sparrow or 'unknown'

Sparrow or ‘unknown’

22 thoughts on “My Feathered Friends

  1. I think your pictures are quite good. Of course, closer is always better but as far as taking pictures through a window, you did great. I love birds and was an avid birder for many years. I love to attract the birds to our yard too. Looks like we have many of the same birds as you.

    Like

    • These ones seem to stay even through our cold winters…I just love watching them and keep peeking out at them…(just a little secret ..don’t tell anyone…but I worry about them in the cold especially at night) as if I can do anything about it…. 😉 Diane

      Like

      • Offering them food is real important this time of year. That and providing a place to get out of the weather. I’m sure you’ve got plenty of trees and eaves for shelter. Each year we have at least 6 pair of house finches build nests under our eaves. I love bringing a little nature a little bit closer.

        Like

  2. I knew that you would know the kind of Woodpecker it was…it’s big! And to verify the one is a ‘Junco’.

    The unknown could be a kind of Finch …I’ll email where we are but we do have a finch feeder and I see colors of red and some ‘yelllow’ on them…

    I caught Mr. Blue Jay this morning…!!

    Like

  3. I am glad you posted these. You have a great spot right there. 🙂 You are blessed to get Chickadees right away. We fed the birds four or more years before any of those came to our yard.

    You do better than I with using a tripod, I often don’t bother. And right now it is in the van with our birding scope. Have you noticed Blue Jays can be picky about their peanuts? We’ve seen them pick up nuts and drop them until they find just the right size.

    Yes, the “I hope” bird is a Junco. The Woodpecker is a Hairy the best I can tell. No spots on the white tail feathers, like a Downy would have and Downys are visibly smaller than a suet feeder.

    For the unknown bird, my first impression is an American Goldfinch in its winter clothing, but I’d like to know your location to make sure. There are other types of Goldfinches. Would you be willing to email me your location? I don’t need specifics, just what part of your province you are in. And I think you have an American Tree Sparrow in the cage feeder.

    Birds are amazing creatures and I am glad the Lord has brought so many our way so we can watch them.

    Like

  4. NIce. How good it is that they find your place a friendly enough place to visit and spend time in.
    I see a cardinal here once in a rare while, and a blue jay once in a rarer while. I cannot forget the time I heard the cardinal’s song – rich and full throated from a little tiny bird from way up high a tree. We mostly have starlings and sparrows. I see them on our neighbor’s front yard during their feeding time. 🙂

    Like

  5. Thank you for the photos, Diane. We have Stellar Jays in California, but not the gorgeous Cardinals. Cardinals and fireflies are two things I love and miss where I live.

    Russ

    Like

    • I hadn’t even hear of the Stellar Jays until recently and another blogging friend was asking if any of her readers had an actual photo of one to email it to her…I don’t know if she ever got one or not…

      The Cardinals are one of the most beautiful small birds…Diane

      Like

  6. They are pretty, sweet little creatures aren’t they? Watching birds always reminds me of what Jesus told us about our worth, I always see those birds and think they are so very precious, and that really puts things in perspective when I’m having a day of self doubts and self loathing. Their lives are so simple too, I used to watch and wonder when I was more depressed, why birds didn’t seem to get depressed like we human beings can. My thoughts were maybe because they truly do live in the moment, right now, as it’s all they have. They don’t cry about the past, and they don’t fret about the future, they just LIVE. I know it’s not as simple as that (if only!) but it’s a good reminder of how precious right this moment is. xxx

    Like

    • I know I wonder thing about them too…like where they keep warm at night and how do the male and female always seem to keep track of each other and so on and so on….

      I guess they do live in the moment…food, warmth,and survival too. Maybe we can learn something from them… 😉 Diane

      Like

  7. Diane…you’re doing a great job! I’m proud of you. There is a learning curve, definitely. Keep up the good work. It’s fun to be a bird watcher….better than swimming with sharks. 🙂
    BTW, I look back and said to myself….I can’t believe I did that. Birds are pretty safe. 🙂

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

