My sister Catherine passed away 19 years ago today, much too young at 63 from cancer. I am reblogging a poem she wrote for me 30 years ago.

hometogo232

 

This is a poem from my ‘Memories’ series written for me by my sister Catherine  It was written when I was in my early 30’s and my children were small, and I was experiencing a time of stress and depression.  She understood my history, my desires for a family free of want of love or needs. She also understood what the ‘darkness of depression was like, as she had gone through a period of it as well. I cherish the feelings that she put into this poem for me. I will warn you that it is a bit long. She wrote what she believed about me and my challenges of life.

 

In the innocence of childhood,
She tread a weary path,
Deprivation and hunger,
Were constant companions,
Peppered with small joys,
Along the way,
Now and then, happy thoughts
Of love, gentle embraces
And wiping away of tears.

View original post 318 more words

4 thoughts on “

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

