DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Resolved

Prompt: Have you ever made a New Year’s Resolution that you kept?

new-year-2013-537x358Well, this prompt popped out at me because normally I don’t make New Year’s Resolutions…but last year I did. I had decided that as a Christian I wanted to spend more time with the Lord.

Before that time I did go to church although not every week….and I was Christian and tried to live the way I thought God would want me to, and I did ‘try’ to pray each day.

However I realized that it was not for me, enough. Sometimes when I would intend to pray I would wait until I went to bed, as was my normal time for prayer. During the day I did at times realize that I had thoughts and perhaps unspoken prayers that I said, but it seemed as though my ‘set-aside’ prayer at nighttime wasn’t working because sleepiness would overtake me many times and I would wake up with the knowledge that I had not prayed for the things or people who I had intended to. Instead I had given in to my fatigue!

So last New Year’s 2012, I decided to set aside a time for reading some scripture, a devotional and then some time in prayer each and every day.  For awhile I didn’t zero in on when that time would be, and I soon determined it did not work out well in the early morning because I am not a ‘morning’ person. Neither was it good during the day, because there were too many distractions and I could not guarantee a specific time would be uninterrupted. But I persevered in finding that a half hour before going to bed was my best time. The busyness of the day was over and the chances of a telephone ringing, or someone at the door were negligible and I was not in a prone position so I would not fall asleep.

So here I am New Year’s in 2013 and I look back and say that I have been able (with the exception of perhaps being unwell) to continue with my time of prayer and reflection, as I resolved to do, and with God’s help I will be able to continue in this year.

4 thoughts on “DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Resolved

  1. It is interesting to me how we have to “feel out” our times that we want to set aside on a regular basis. You just have to keep trying until you find a “workable” time to set aside for prayer and reflection. It’s too bad that a lot of times, the prayer and self reflection is the first thing to go when life gets busy. But you stuck with it. I’ll bet it feels really good.

    Like

    • It has been rewarding…I feel a more personal connection to God by doing this….I get an online devotion and a scripture to read…along with commentary…and then I spend some time praying. While it’s not still a long time …it s 15 min. usually…Thanks for your comment Barbara…Diane

      Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

