DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Forever Young

Prompt: If there were a real Fountain of Youth, would you drink the water?

The simple and easy answer is ‘no’, I would not drink the water.

Although the question doesn’t specify to what age, drinking the water would take you, I still would not do so. The early years of my life were full of uncertainties and insecurity. My early teen years were stressful and I did not have friends  who made me feel accepted. I empathize with young people today who are in the same situation and even face bullying.

My years as a young wife and mother were mind-boggling. I was very young (19) when I had my first child and the second 16 months later. The third was then about 3 1/2 years after that. Those years when all were very young were difficult years and yet I felt were good also and sometimes though not wanting to re-do those years, I do like to recall them and often look at pictures to bring back the memories.

My middle years raising a family, working full-time outside of the home but having the ever-present darkness of depression pop in and out of my life, was to me the most tumultuous time of my life. So I definitely would not want to return there.

Having said all of that, I learned in each stage of my life, things that would eventually make me who and what I am today. I feel deeply for those suffering from any kind of mental illness. I would like to encourage them in order that they too might find the peace and freedom from oppression.

I’m in a place now in my life where things have settled down…even though there was the recent move we have gone through. I am happy and just want to enjoy life, but also to do what we can, to help others do the same.

I don’t believe it is wise to want to return to the past even though we’d be younger again, we’d still have new (or the same) challenges to face. Let’s live for ‘today’!

8 thoughts on “DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Forever Young

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

