DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Childhood Revisited

Prompt:  What is your earliest memory? Describe it in detail, and tell us why you think that experience was the one to stick with you.

I really have very few memories from my childhood that are more than a glimpse in my mind. Maybe it’s because our life was so dysfunctional much of the time, some is just from normal forgetfulness and some is due to my Multiple Sclerosis and lets not forget that one time during a very extreme time of depression, I did have a few ECT or Electro Convulsive Therapy…treatments. They did cause a problem with my memory.  But the earliest one that I can recall and that stands out in my mind I will try to recall some details.

I was in Grade 6, living with my mother and at that time my older sister who was 6 years older than I, and my brother who was 2 years older and lived in an apartment. At that time I guess that I would be around 11 years of age and attended a public school nearby. I didn’t have any real close friends at the time and was considered pretty much a loner. The other girls in my class would speak to me occasionally and let me ….again occasionally be around them at recess. A lot of time I pretty well was on my own. I didn’t fit in with the status quo at that time or really anytime. The status quo  was that kids had two parents and lived in the same house for many years and had stability which I of course didn’t….kind of like was portrayed on shows such as Leave it to Beaver….okay most of you won’t remember that show!

So, the incident that happened was that there was a school dance coming up…yes a dance at 11 years of age! But it was more a party type social thing that the school had.  Anyway it was a “Sadie Hawkins’ party. For those that don’t know what that is….it is when the girl asks the boy to go. Well I don’t know how I ever got up enough nerve but I asked this boy that I knew liked me…why he did I’m not sure. I think it was because he was a shy person also. The girls that somehow let me hang out occasionally,…. ‘egged me on’ and so I did it. After all, they were paying attention to me and so I wanted to ‘please’ them and make them like me more.

After I did, these same girls teased me about asking him and indicated that he was in today’s terminology by the young people…he would be considered ‘a loser’….Definition, he was not ‘popular’.  They would corner me in the girl’s coat area and laugh at me etc. Because they kept it up, I decided that I would tell the boy that I couldn’t go and so cancelled on him.

The reason this stands out in my mind is when these girls found out I had cancelled, they bombarded me with disdain….saying that was a mean thing to do, and they really kept it up and made me feel very confused and very bad.

This young boy never spoke to me again. I could tell that I had really hurt his feelings and his self-esteem.

I remember this incident because in retrospect I would call this a form of ‘bullying’. I was the victim of not doing what I thought was right and gave in because of the peer pressure, and because I did,…. I felt terrible for hurting someone else, and I learned not to make the mistake again of listening and taking advice from those who don’t have your best interest in their heart and in fact in this case were using me for their own agenda. 

20 thoughts on “DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Childhood Revisited

  1. I still cringe at some of the things I did when I was younger, like you said only to be well liked and today I would not recognize those “popular” but mean girls if I tripped over them, Bullying comes in all sizes and sometimes us victims get trapped into going along. My heart goes out to the young girl you were. Blessings – Patty

    Like

    • Thanks Patty…I think bullying has progressed since our day ..at least there are more ways of doing it…like even electronically…texting etc but it has existed for a very long time and sometimes more subtly than other times…..Diane

      Like

      • So true, and young kids have gotten meaner. It could be the media, less parent interaction, peer pressure, so many underlining reasons, but what ever the reasons it needs to be stopped. The past few years we have been reading of young children killing themselves over bullying. That is so sad.

        Like

  2. Thank you so much for sharing this. Those girls were so cruel! It shows that you have a good heart that you felt so bad about how your actions in response to being bullied hurt another person. In reality, you didn’t feel that you had any other choice at the time, you were young, you were shy, you were being emotionally abused by these girls.
    (((Hugs)))

    Like

    • You are right with what you said about those other girls…but I own up to my part and hurting the other boy…I can remember the feelings that I had and when he never spoke to me again…I was reminded. It’s strange that of a lot of things in my life that happened I remember that one vividly and can even visualize the girls in the coat room taunting and teasing and then telling me off …strange what my brain kept certain things but so many others I can’t recall at all. I guess at the time this happened it upset me so much ….the brain knew it and kept the memory…Maybe for a lesson to be learned ?….Thanks for your encouraging words…Diane

      Like

      • I am not surprised that your brain held on to this particular memory, Dianne, it’s tied up with emotions. That’s why we remember some things better than others, I think – the emotional side of things intensifies the whole experience.
        It says a lot about your heart that you felt so bad – you aren’t bad. You made a mistake. I am sure wherever he is now, that boy understands. I know looking back, I can see that some of the kids who I felt were not kind to me in school were really unable to go against the bullies – for their own sake – and that in their own way, they tried. And I forgive them because I understand. We all make mistakes when we are kids though. xxx

        Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

