DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Hobson’s Choice

Prompt: If you had to choose between being able to write a blog (but not read others’) and being able to read others’ blogs (but not write your own), which would you pick? Why?

Wow, this is a difficult choice. I love reading and interacting with other bloggers so much….But if I had to make the choice it would be to write my own blogs.

I began blogging to put my thoughts and feelings about many issues in writing. I wanted to write about my early years growing up, my life in general raising a family, my faith in God and anything else that seemed important enough to write about.  By writing about the depression I suffered for so many years, I thought I might help another …even if only one person to feel less alone in their despair. I didn’t at the time know whether or not I would ever interact with anyone else.

By writing about the past I thought it would be good to look back at where I came from as a child with a dysfunctional background  and then as an adult and to see the progress that I’ve made.

However, I also thought that my writings would in a way leave a legacy to my children in order that they might see some of the things they didn’t know or see in me as they grew up.

I’ve been printing off a few posts at a time  and am putting them in a binder so that they can read them and maybe learn or glean something from them.

I have to say though in closing that if I hadn’t been able to read others’ blogs I would be sadly lacking in blessings and encouragement and wisdom received by doing so.

8 thoughts on “DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ Hobson’s Choice

  1. i think i would blog too, there is just something about it, but having said that, the WP community has been an amazing wonderful surprise and the people are what keep me going. I’ve always written, long before there were blogs. 🙂

    Like

  2. I’m with you. I think I would still write my blog. Though I think if there was no interaction I wouldn’t blog, but write essays that no one would ever see, because mostly I think I write for myself.

    Saving all your posts is a spectacular idea. What a legacy to leave your family.

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

