DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ What change would I like to make?

This daily prompt was What change big or small would I like my blog to make in this world?

I was really thinking about this. What change could a woman who is a senior and only blogging for one year as of this month,  hope to make?

After reading others’ blogs for a year I am drawn to the fact that there are a significant amount of people who are suffering from depression and other mental illnesses and who need to know they are not alone in their feelings. I remember only too well the years and years that I had to deal with my own ‘darkness’ of depression. The feeling of isolation is great when you are dealing with thoughts of not wanting to exist if it means living like you are. People all around you seem to have their lives flowing so well and are happy and enjoying being alive. You ask yourself why is it that you can’t feel that way? What have you done or not done to be in such a state that you consider even ending your own life? Why can’t God just ‘zap’ you and make you ‘normal’?

You go to therapy or your own family doctor and you are given medications to try and help, but nothing seems to work and you ask yourself why? You wonder if you can ever rid yourself of these feelings and ever feel joy again.

So…what change would I like my blog to make?  It would be to encourage and walk ‘along side’ of even one of these people and tell them that they are not alone…that others can and ‘have’ been through what they are experiencing.

And I’d like to say there is hope and it is possible to overcome and break through these dark moments and to feel ‘whole’ and joyful once again. I’d like to say ‘hold on’….this too shall pass.

And in the end I’d like to think I made a difference in someone’s life and in their ‘world’.

13 thoughts on “DP Challenge http://dailypost.wordpress.com/ What change would I like to make?

  1. Know that you are making a difference on those suffering from depression. Your posts are inspiring and uplifting and they give people a lift when they are in the doldrums. 🙂 Besides, there is wisdom in your posts. I definitely benefit from your blog. 🙂

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

