Stress…What Stress?

Well, you’ve likely heard enough about our ‘move’, so I won’t go into details about it. But what I would like to say something about is the stress of it all.

My husband and I have been married for over 49 years now and we are quite used to each other and our ‘breaking points’. Nevertheless, we had our share of them during this move. Maybe it’s because we were are so very tired and that causes a lot of things to happen. Individually and together we both knew this was a problem but didn’t realize what a toll it really was taking on us.

We would console each other as much as we could when we knew one of us was having a really bad day, but sometimes our frustration would just come to a boiling point. I can remember one of mine was finding out that the day we were supposed to get our telephone, television and internet connected….was not going as planned and we would not have any of them done, probably for a week or more.

It was as though we could have withstood all of the other things that happened during the week prior to moving and moving day, but not having those ‘very necessary’ conveniences….was just too much to take.

I exploded in tears of, I guess frustration but in retrospect it was that we planned for everything but other people were not owning up to their end of the bargain. How dare they? I can remember being so angry I went and lay down and finally fell asleep. When I woke up I didn’t really want to get up and face all the looming things that still had to be done. My husband just puttered around during this time and let me have my little ‘temper tantrum’…because that’s what it was.

Later that night as I was sitting down, I realized that this was NOT the end of the world. So we wouldn’t have our routine back for a little while. So my blogging would just have to have a break. So we wouldn’t have a telephone for awhile or the television programs we felt were just so necessary to be watching. So it would take us longer than we wished it would to get unpacked and settled. We I was just going to have to accept it and make the most of it.

So, while we are even now…not settled in and everything unpacked and we are both very tired, we are a ‘together tired’. We both understand any move…but especially one when you’re a senior and not as quick to recover from the stress of it, indeed can take it’s toll.

But it’s okay and we’re okay! And maybe that is a lesson that we needed to be reminded of!

It is the Lord who goes before you. He will be with you; he will not fail you or forsake you. Do not fear or be dismayed. (Deuteronomy 31:8)

18 thoughts on “Stress…What Stress?

  1. I’m sorry it took me so long to get around to reading and replying, Diane, I wish I could have been there to hug you (not that it would have helped) I’ve certainly been saying prayers for you.
    It sounds like just such a stressful, upsetting place to have been in. I don’t think you had a ‘tantrum’ at all, I think you were human. We can’t just bottle it all up – we have to let it out!
    I just hope so much that things are feeling a lot better now and that everything is sorted out.
    *gentle hugs and prayers* xx

    Like

    • We are pretty settled now Fiona…I am very tired though but hope this is temporary. Thanks so much for your prayers ….I do believe in spite or because it was a tough move there is a reason for everything….Diane

      Like

  2. Oh, I remember the stress of our previous move. At times I do not think it will be our last. More than anything I would miss our birds, but if God calls us to, we shouldn’t let anything get in the way. I know He would bless us if we obey.

    Our phone and internet were delayed when we moved here. I felt so unsettled because we are so far out from anything, what would I do if something happens? I couldn’t call 911.

    I did break a bit under the pressure- we had lived in someone’s home for two months and I felt so overwhelmed with the new house because we didn’t get a chance to do the painting we had wanted to do before we actually moved in. My husband was such a dear and did his best to help me through that time. God did see us through. And looking back, it really was just a minor issue, but seemed so large at the time.

    I am glad you are getting settled, even slowly. It’s ok… our settling in was a bit slow as we had a baby and were trying to catch up on school lessons as well. We lived around boxes for a few months.

    Like

    • Thank you…it’s good that I can so relate to what you said…I’m getting even now to not ever say it’s our last move because I’ve said it before but I really think it is. The worst part is living in clutter and not being able to find things…along with just the stress of the move itself especially as we are older…it took more out of us than we had imagined. But things are slowly coming together ..now if I could just feel not so tired and worn out….that will come too….Diane

      Like

  3. I’m glad you guys are okay. And you are right and a good reminder of the fact that even though things don’t go as planned, it’s not the end of the world. And we are going to be okay. Something I need to keep in mind! 🙂 I’m glad I’m finally getting to read all your blogs again, by the way. We’ve been keeping you all in our prayers!

    Like

    • Thanks…for the prayers. I’ve missed seeing you here when I did get a chance …I think I’m caught up now and things are finally (almost) settled here….so maybe I’ll get some time, motivation and inspiration to do a blog..other than about moving…lol Take care….Diane

      Like

  4. We are very happy that we moved regardless of the difficulties…and when we’ve had time to relax we will enjoy it all the more…I’m glad your site is up and running …I’ll have to have a look…Diane.

    Like

  5. i hope once you’ve rested you will feel at home! i know it’s so hard and i’ve felt many of the things you have both with the move and getting this website up and running, i hit wall after wall with it. but it’s done and up! hang in there!

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

