I Am Blogging Today for Mental Health Awareness Month May 16, 2012

I became aware a few days ago that May is Mental Health Awareness Month. As the blogger said who mentioned this, it should more aptly be called Mental Illness Awareness Month. What other disease does not call it that? It is always ‘Cancer or Heart or M.S. or Diabetes…Awareness.

If the point is to make people aware of mental health/illness, then some of the mental disorders should also be made….from depression to Bi-Polar, to Eating, to Schizophrenia,  to the many other diseases that affect the brain and our thoughts.

There is definitely a stigma applied from a great deal of the population towards those with any of these diseases. People often don’t know how to react or to be a friend to these people.

My mental disorder carried the name depression. I think even when I was quite young…pre-teen, when I first experienced symptoms that are associated with depression. I remember different times just thinking of being too different from everyone else that I went to school with or knew,  who were my age.  There was a sadness about and around me a lot of times. It’s not that I didn’t also have some good times, but the problem is that I can’t remember them. I do remember praying, while not in the normal sense I suppose, of just not wanting to be here anymore.  My family life was very unstable, because my mother was by the time that I was born, on her own. My father had been ‘home’ with the other 9 of my siblings but he had a problem with alcohol, and also a gambling addiction. So basically my mother could not count on him for support.

So, my mother had to support those of us who were left in the home at the time I was born, totally on her own. We moved much, and I did not have time to make friends before we would have to move yet again.

I did eventually finish my Grade 10 and was working by the time I was 16. That was another stress for me because I had been overly protected by my mother, and here I was in the ‘big wide world’. During my 15th year I met and then at 18 married my husband, and within 4 months was expecting our first child. That’s all that I had dreamed of, was getting married and having children who would be raised in a secure environment, different from my own. Anyway, not to get off topic but just to say that we had 2 more children by the time I was 24, and my life was a whirlwind the like of which I couldn’t even begin to know.

In any case the years to follow brought a lot of change and responsibilities. I began suffering from periods of depression to a greater degree than before, in my 20’s. While we managed to work and raise our children together, my times became more frequent and persisted longer. I went to doctors and psychiatrists and they said I had what was called clinical/reactive depression and put me on a myriad of medications trying to find the right one and dosage. When I was in my 30’s I suffered probably the worst and most serious episode. Medications weren’t working, nor the therapy. I was at the point and in fact did try to take my own life, unsuccessfully. At this time my doctors wanted me to take what is called ECT treatment. My family for the most part objected to me doing this, but my husband and I decided to because I saw no hope whatsoever of continuing on as I was. My doctors suggested only 3 treatments and I did. While I cannot say that I wanted to go to this extreme, in retrospect perhaps for that time being it did save my life. It was however only a temporary ‘fix’.

For many years the depression remained as a constant companion, although work and living our busy lives continued. My family got used to the fact that I had this issue and adjusted, at least to the best of their ability.  I continued to go to doctors, psychiatrists and then therapists. There was always the medication dosage and kinds adjusted many times and the hospital stays at the worst times.

If all seems woe, our move to a  small town when my husband retired brought hope for the future for the first time. It did not happen overnight and there were many relapses over the period of about 9 years. However, during this time I became familiar through my doctor, who was just starting to practice it….with cognitive therapy. She asked me if I would be interested, and I said yes.

The concept of it was that while it was important to look at the past in terms of the depression and what caused it, this new therapy was more concerned with the present. My doctor had me looking at how I viewed the world and how my thoughts could be flawed in my thinking. She affirmed what I was feeling, but challenged me to alter them somewhat. Each week I would fill out a sheet of how I felt in different areas of my life and we would talk about them. Also I would keep a journal and think of things that I had to be grateful for. Also I would write letters to myself challenging the negative thoughts that would come to mind. I cannot do justice to what cognitive therapy is all about in a few sentences. So I’ll leave it there.

Having said all of this, I must say that when one has clinical depression, it likely is going to entail medications, perhaps in most cases for life. There are changes within the brain because there are chemical imbalances that do affect our thinking.

After saying that, I must add that just this year I took the last of my anti-depressants. I have waited until pretty well the end of the blog to say that my greatest medicine was God. He was there with me through all the years of depression while some days I didn’t believe it. I thought that he could heal me ‘instantly’ if He  chose to do so, but for His own reasons that only He knew there were things in my life that I didn’t know that were ahead and I must go through. But in the end, His glory would be revealed.

For all intents and purposes I should still be on medication, but the grace by of God I’m not. Perhaps because I am in a better place right now in my life,  or by God’s design.

In closing, though I have written a previous blog on the subject of what not to do or say to someone suffering from mental diseases or disorders, do not say they don’t have a reason for their illness…do not say “snap out of it”….do not stigmatize them..do let them talk about it if they so choose and try to be supportive of them and affirm their good qualities. Give a shoulder to cry on if that’s what they need, or to go out and have a coffee. Do whatever you can to try to help them feel good about themselves and give them hope, and not feel like an outcast of society. We are God’s ambassadors.

Mental Illness is many things to many people and odds are you know someone who has it. Be watchful that you might be someone who that person needs.

10 thoughts on “I Am Blogging Today for Mental Health Awareness Month May 16, 2012

  1. You have such a heartfelt story. I am really glad you pointed out that there are actual imbalances in the brain, and the brain does actually change. There really are times when medication is necessary, and depression is extremely hard to combat without the use of medication. My grandmother just had heart surgery. She will be on medication for life now, because without it, she can’t combat the issues that arise with heart disease. It’s simply the way things work.

    And I have always stated since having Jack, I have no idea how teenagers handle having a child. No matter the circumstance. There is so much growing and changing in the brain simply because of human nature, and to add the stress of parenthood on top of that is just so difficult to deal with. I was 26 when I had my son. And that was difficult enough. I admire how well you’ve done and I think the fact that you continued to try, even after trying to give up. It’s hard to recover from that. Thanks again for sharing the way you do!

    Like

    • Thank you for commenting ..yes you mention the brain and teenagers raising children..Basically I was still growing when I became a mother and it was so difficult because I knew so little when I became a mother..only of course that I would do anything, be anything for my children..but of course detrimental to my well-being as a person and suffered the effects as I did. But thanks to perseverance an the Lord I did make it through all the difficult years and am now in a very good place.

      Like

  2. I am another one who has recovered from depression with the help of God. Sadly there are people who will always ostracize us if we are a bit different, don’t dress the right way or our houses are not in a perfect state – or at least where I live in the Cayman Islands there are a lot of pretentious people. I find that I now have better friends who are what you might call “broken people,” people who know they have to rely on God. Anyway, thanks for sharing. and thanks for giving me the Liebster Award, Fiona xx

    Like

    • I’m praying that we will. I’m really excited that we can reach the whole world via the internet. Can be used for bad – lets pray that more of us can be using it for good.

      Like

  3. Thanks for sharing this.
    I too believe that God has taken away my depression. Doctors told me there was nothing wrong with me – the intense suicidal times didn’t last long. I’ll be sharing more of this in futures blog posts.
    I agree with Fiona, people need to hear our stories – and know that there is hope – and others need to know how to help people with mental illness/distress. As you say, there is still so much stigma – yet there but for the grace of God go I.

    Like

  4. Thank you – this is such a sad and yet inspiring story. Thank you for telling of your battle with depression – you have been through so much and it’s amazing that you survived. It goes to show just what courage and strength you do have, and yes, you always have God with you. God has helped you come through this.
    There is so much stigma and ignorance about mental illnesses and people do suffer more because of that. If more people like you tell their stories we are closer to one day having more understanding and support xxx

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

