Assumptions

I thought I’d write today about assuming… Sometimes we suppose that we know what will happen when we do something or say something. I used to and still do to some extent get into trouble by assuming I know how someone is going to react to a suggestion or comment that I am just thinking of making.

I wind up with all kinds of scenarios in my mind about what I will say and what they will say and so on and so on. I’m tired before even before I start.

Why do we do that? Why do we over-think things?

I’ve come to the conclusion that we are afraid we will do or say the wrong thing and so we try it out in our sub-conscious. In some instances it works, believe it or not. I have talked myself out of broaching certain subjects with people because I feel that I will end up probably in a bad place, if I do.

The down side is that I don’t get to know if my assumption is correct. Maybe if I had tried I would be pleasantly surprised and I would have a sense of satisfaction in putting all those scenarios to rest. And I would have my answer!

Maybe, just maybe sometime in the future I will not ‘assume’ things will turn out badly and I will take a chance! Who knows?

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

