Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time

Prompt : If you could return to the past to relive a part of your life, either to experience the wonderful bits again, or to do something over, which part of you life would you return to? Why?

The above challenge really made me think back on  my life and at what point in it would I want to go back to. I have to say that I could not determine one specific age or time.

Would I want to go back to when I was a teenager? What about when I was first married and then within a year becoming a new mother with all that entails… responsibility for caring and nurturing another life? What about the years of raising three children, working and juggling each of them? What about the years when I struggled with depression and then discovered I had Multiple Sclerosis? Most would say those years I would definitely not want to repeat. Then came the years between 50 and 60. You would think that by the time I reached that age, my life would be set and surely I would want to return to that point in life.

My revelation of course is that each of those times in my life had a reason, a meaning, a challenge, a time of heartache and grief, a time of joy, a time of growth.

I would not want to return to any of them. Each had their purpose for me to be where I am today. Each was a time that God purposed for me.

To go back would intimate that I wanted to perhaps alter the course of my life, to change what happened, to not be content with where I am today.

That is not the case. Even though currently there are health issues and other emotional ones, I need to be where I am, doing what I do and meet each challenge as it comes.

I embrace this time with it’s blessings and joy and some heartache,  because I am where I am supposed to be!

26 Responses

  1. Lovely! And right on the money.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  3. what a great observation and conclusion–those times were what they were, and now is what it is

    Like

  4. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  5. I don’t think that I would want to go back either!

    Like

  6. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  7. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  8. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  9. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  10. Beautifully said. I always try to be honest in saying that being who I am, I would make the same mistakes despite my best intentions.

    Like

  11. That is my thought too.
    Have a nice day:)

    Like

  12. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  13. […] Hometogo232 embraces the now […]

    Like

  14. […] Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  15. […] on life, universe and everything 18. Grey | Perspectives on life, universe and everything 19. Daily Prompt – If I Could Turn Back Time | hometogo232 20. Back To The Future For A Fresh Start | Awake & Dreaming 21. My fleeting high school dream […]

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

Lori Lara

Sharing my journey of recovery, motherhood, and the healing power of God's grace.

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

Kitt O'Malley

Living with Bipolar Disorder. Loved by God.

Gotta Get My Camera

Shutterbuggin, Photography, Art Heart

Gibber Jabberin

Q & A,Dumbassery,sarcasm

Positive Vibez

Recognising the positives in life and embracing them

The Master's Table

God honoring, Christ Centered

My Little Bunny Cupcake

Memories + Love + Crafting = Happiness

inesepogagallery

NATURE ART, DRAWING AND PAINTING

Tales from the Laundry Room

Finding God in the Midst of the Mundane

U Be Cute

Follow the child inside of you...

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, pet tales, learning difficulties & believe it or not some humour!

artbysharim

My adventure in Art

Absolutely Unperfect

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield.

A Grateful Man's Poetry

May you find truth and kindness in my poetry, and may it remind you of the goodness and greatness within you and others.

My Weary Mind

My Thoughts on My life and Other Useless Information

The Official Blog For Mental Health Project

Making mental health everyone's concern

a poem in my pocket

posting poetic prose

Chasing Rabbit Holes

This site is the cat’s meow and the dog's pajamas

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 701 other followers

