Another Reason To Bully

Tourettes circle logo imagesRecently I came into contact with a  mother whose son suffers from Tourettes and when I read one of her posts concerning it, I was moved to do a blog myself on this syndrome.  I’m going to give a brief explanation first of all.

Tourette syndrome (TS) is a neurological disorder characterized by repetitive, stereotyped, involuntary movements and vocalizations called tics. The disorder is named for Dr. Georges Gilles de la Tourette, the pioneering French neurologist who in 1885 first described the condition in an 86-year-old French noblewoman.

Simple tics: Simple motor tics are sudden, brief, repetitive movements that involve a limited number of muscle groups. Some of the more common simple tics include eye blinking and other vision irregularities, facial grimacing, shoulder shrugging, and head or shoulder jerking. Simple vocalizations might include repetitive throat-clearing, sniffing, or grunting sounds.

There is more to this syndrome in the way of symptoms; some of which are more severe or complex…. If you want more detail I’ll give a link here

The reason for writing about it, however is not just to list a lot of detail but to say that I was touched by a glimpse into the life of a little boy who has it. A little boy who goes to school and is teased and bullied incessantly and who doesn’t know what to do about it.

 Children can be cruel when they see someone who isn’t the same, and who don’t know the reason that their schoolmate does what he does; like jerking his head or blinking his eyes a lot. Each person has the syndrome at different levels. Usually it starts when the child is young, and sometimes it will disappear as they get older. Sometimes the tics can be controlled somewhat but often times not.

Of course I have seen those with this condition on occasion while shopping or on other occasions. And if there is a sound emitted I do look of course, because I don’t know where the sound is coming from. But when I see, I then continue with what I’m doing and do not continue to stare, anymore than I would stare at someone with a disfigurement or disability of some kind. This was taught to me growing up from my mother. It’s called ‘sensitivity’ but unfortunately there are many who do stare and make comments under their breath. They are just plain rude and ignorant.

Anyway, I thought it wouldn’t hurt to talk about and maybe we can help in doing so. I’m giving you a link to the blogger I mentioned if you want to read her and her son’s story from their perspective.   

http://livingineastsheen.co.uk/2014/03/10/suffering-from-tourettes-get-support-locally-help-to-remove-misconceptions/comment-page-1/#comment-227

Note: I found it interesting that there is no spell-check for Tourettes. That I think in itself says something.

19 Responses

  1. I saw a documentary last year about a whole town that was afflicted – thanks for raising awareness.

    Like

  2. Hi there That was a moving post. I enjoyed reading it. I invited you to our private blog. If you want to have access? I dont know if I did it right, so in case I didnt, just click on this link http://manyofus1980.com/

    and request access. Hugs!

    Like

  3. It is also another opportunity for kindness. Thank you for the reminder, my friend.
    Russ

    Like

  4. I knew someone who had it so bad he almost poked his eye out. I can’t imagine living with something like that. Seizures are enough

    Like

  5. Stupidity must be something people inherit. Our children learn from us.

    Like

  6. Thank you so much for linking back to my blog where I wrote about this and my son. I have another blog, called eclecticoddsnsods (not self advertising here), but I think I am following you here, here I wrote a little more openly about what goes on with him and chronicling his journey with this and the many other things that go on with parenting and also touching on learning difficulties. It is a learning curve for the whole of us as a family. He had it mildly when at primary school, but what with hormones,the stress of secondary school, bullying etc it went very out of control. We have a school counsellor who after Easter is going to try and help him manage ‘his thoughts’ etc and when he feels extreme anger and upset over what is going on. Re the children who do the bullying its tempered down a bit which is good. It is heartbreaking when you feel helpless in supporting one’s child. We are getting there, and thank you for raising awareness, I shall check that I am following you on eclectic xx

    Like

  7. Here we are and I am following you now :-) I might re-blog this post on to my blog, thank you once again x

    Like

  8. Reblogged this on Eclectic odds n sods and commented:
    I wanted to re-blog this post on a lovely lady who read about my sons Tourettes on my Living in East Sheen blog, though I already covered this topic in this post, I wanted to show how someone can show complete compassion and passion at the same time for helping our youngsters and raising awareness in different difficult situations. Many thanks x

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

Stigmama

Motherhood. Mental Illness. Out Loud.

hometogo232

About life, love, family, Christianity

Strings of Soulfulness

The strings of my life’s soulfulness in the beauty of eternity.

Lori Lara

Sharing my journey of recovery, motherhood, and the healing power of God's grace.

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

Kitt O'Malley

Living with Bipolar Disorder. Loved by God.

Gotta Get My Camera

Shutterbuggin, Photography, Art Heart

Gibber Jabberin

Q & A,Dumbassery,Sarcasm,Humor

Positive Vibez

Recognising the positives in life and embracing them

The Master's Table

God honoring, Christ Centered

My Little Bunny Cupcake

Memories + Love + Crafting = Happiness

inesepogagallery

NATURE ART, DRAWING AND PAINTING

Tales from the Laundry Room

Finding God in the Midst of the Mundane

U Be Cute

Follow the child inside of you...

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, Pet Tales, Humour & Photography

artbysharim

My adventure in Art

Absolutely Unperfect

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield.

A Grateful Man's Poetry

May you find truth and kindness in my poetry, and may it remind you of the goodness and greatness within you and others.

My Weary Mind

My Thoughts on My life and Other Useless Information

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 722 other followers

