Daily Prompt – Young at Heart

Prompt: What are your thoughts on aging? How will you stay young at heart as you get older?

Since I’m already a Senior I’m looking at the question in the present and not the future. Mind you I am still aging so I will get older. The years of raising children and working outside the home have passed.

Now, my husband and I enjoy having time to do things at our convenience for the most part, so we don’t need to clock-watch. Sometimes it feels strange watching the busyness of those around us and we do remember.

I always had hoped I would age gracefully, because when you’re young somehow you tend to envision that you will be well, and the ills of growing old only happen to others and not to you. However, the reality often is that by the time you’ve reached 65 your body will start to remind you that you’re not able to do all or even part of what you did in your 30’s, 40s, and even 50’s. Some of us unfortunately,  may acquire a debilitating disease before we reach retirement age. In my case M.S; in other cases something different. If you don’t fall into that segment of society, then you need ‘only’ deal with aging.

If you keep your activity level up, it will I suppose slow down the ‘growing old’ process. And if you work full-time outside the home, you would be wise to take time to hold on to an interest or hobby. It will serve you well, when all of a sudden you’re not going out to work, and there is an emptiness of sorts… time to fill in with something else.

To keep ‘young at heart’ is kind of easy, because inside I don’t feel old. Sure there are aches and pains and health concerns; but I still feel ‘young’ inside. I listen to music of the era when I was growing up. Some of you may shudder, but it was the time for ‘rockin’ and rollin’. Perhaps some of the music was silly and didn’t make a lot of sense…. like ‘Hound Dog’…. Rock Around the Clock’…. ‘Tutti Fruiti’….. ‘Peggy Sue’ and more,  but it’s the music that brings back memories and I feel young again.

So I guess I’m not growing old as gracefully as I’d like to, but I don’t entertain the thought that I’d like to be young again, as each age brought its’ own challenges … and I wouldn’t want to go back and through them again. Along with the challenges of course, there were always blessings in abundance.

So, even though I’m not young age wise, I am young at heart.

27 Responses

  1. I really enjoyed this – a nice look into your life and thoughts on it. I have a family member with MS too – so best wishes to you as you manage that aspect of your health.

    Like

  2. […] Daily Prompt – Young at Heart | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  3. Listening to the silly music of our youth helps.. I’m not yet old, but having recently acquired both a walker and a wheelchair, I some days feel well on my way. Laughter and good company will keep me young while I still am young.

    Like

    • It really does help. If someone passed our car and wonders what the silly woman in the car is doing it’s me clapping and singing along ha!

      …. You haven’t been posting lately and I’ve been wondering how you are… I gather you’ve had a setback…I’m sorry if that’s the case… You’ll always be young at heart Heidi… take care Diane

      Like

  4. I couldn’t agree with you more. I feel we are where we are without choice, but our heart and spirit can forever be young. Going back, not on your life. I love my age and all the aches and pains it provides..proves I am still living and breathing with a smile on my face.

    Like

  5. I like that music too :) and the Hound Dog….it makes total sense our hound dog cries about everything!

    Like

  6. […] Daily Prompt – Young at Heart | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  7. […] Daily Prompt – Young at Heart | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  8. […] Daily Prompt – Young at Heart | hometogo232 […]

    Like

  9. As we continue down life’s path. May we all realize that we are still valuable assets in the Lord’s service. As I age I notice the Lord closing certain doors of service while opening others more suitable for my age and experience.

    As we age, may we all keep our attention on the doors that are opened to us for our service to Christ and find contentment and peace in our service for Him.

    Lord bless you Diane. Thanks so much for sharing.

    Like

  10. Hi Rob… The Lord opened a door for me recently as far as spiritual growth. We move about 1 1/2 years ago and started going to a church with a small congregation but very loving Christians… and recently at the Vestry meeting.. in that they needed a prayer coordinator … when people request prayer there is a prayer chain… but I receive and record and send out the requests… and I’m also a prayer leader periodically …in services. I have never done this before but I really felt the Lord prompting me to volunteer to do this…I thought that at the meeting I would wait to see if someone else really wanted to do this…so I was quiet, but no one else did.. so I ‘somewhat bravely’ offered to do it. Diane

    Like

  11. Being young at heart is a great blessing. Loved your post Diane.

    Like

  12. Im 52 and still feels young:)
    Working, have hobbies and working out. I am enjoying my life:)

    Like

  13. Hi Diane. So true, I will not wish to be twenty or so again. I find that life (and myself) get better (not in physical sense – but it’s good if that is true as well) with age.

    On the other hand, I do feel young until I see the children of my friends getting married or passing professional exams. Then, I feel old and wonder where have all the years gone. :-)

    Like

I'd Love it If You Left a Comment but Thanks for Dropping By in any Case

Stigmama

Motherhood. Mental Illness. Out Loud.

hometogo232

About life, love, family, Christianity

Strings of Soulfulness

The strings of my life’s soulfulness in the beauty of eternity.

Lori Lara

Sharing my journey of recovery, motherhood, and the healing power of God's grace.

Holly Michael's Writing Straight

Connecting and Inspiring Along Life's Crooked Lines by Author Holly Michael

Kitt O'Malley

Living with Bipolar Disorder. Loved by God.

Gotta Get My Camera

Shutterbuggin, Photography, Art Heart

Gibber Jabberin

Q & A,Dumbassery,Sarcasm,Humor

Positive Vibez

Recognising the positives in life and embracing them

The Master's Table

God honoring, Christ Centered

My Little Bunny Cupcake

Memories + Love + Crafting = Happiness

inesepogagallery

NATURE ART, DRAWING AND PAINTING

Tales from the Laundry Room

Finding God in the Midst of the Mundane

U Be Cute

Follow the child inside of you...

Eclectic odds n sods

Parenting, pet tales, learning difficulties & believe it or not some humour!

artbysharim

My adventure in Art

Absolutely Unperfect

To strive, to seek, to find and not to yield.

A Grateful Man's Poetry

May you find truth and kindness in my poetry, and may it remind you of the goodness and greatness within you and others.

My Weary Mind

My Thoughts on My life and Other Useless Information

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

Join 719 other followers

